Skip to main content

Events

Previous Month Next Month

October 2017

Sunday, October 1

No activities this day



Monday, October 2

No activities this day



Tuesday, October 3

10:30 am - 11:30 am    Make Friends with your textbook

Workshop / Academic Success Center (ASC)

Do you struggle with reading your textbook? Come practice some strategies that will help you master your books and retain the information.

Merrill-Cazier Library, More Info




Wednesday, October 4

No activities this day



Thursday, October 5

No activities this day



Friday, October 6

No activities this day



Saturday, October 7

No activities this day



Sunday, October 8

No activities this day



Monday, October 9

No activities this day



Tuesday, October 10

No activities this day



Wednesday, October 11

10:30 am - 11:30 am    Overcoming Writer's Block

Workshop / Academic Success Center (ASC)

Everyone is familiar with the wall that seems to block our thinking when we need to write an important document. Come learn how to overcome "the block" and keep the juices flowing so you can accurately express your thoughts and feelings. You will come away with tips on how to get your words onto a page.

Merrill-Cazier Library, More Info




Thursday, October 12

5:00 pm - 6:30 pm    Stress Management & Wellness

Workshop / Counseling and Psychological Services

This workshop is designed to help participants understand and manage their stress better, increase stress management skills, and develop a wellness plan.

Taggart Student Center, More Info




Friday, October 13

No activities this day



Saturday, October 14

No activities this day



Sunday, October 15

No activities this day



Monday, October 16

No activities this day



Tuesday, October 17

1:30 pm - 2:30 pm    What is This Thing we Call Happiness? - Positive Living Series

Workshop / Counseling and Psychological Services

This educational/experiential workshop series is designed to help guide your attention back from life’s challenges to things that can cultivate more positivity in our lives. Feel free to come to any or all of the workshops in this series. This workshop will provide some understanding into how we define happiness, what life factors that have been found to be related to happiness, and how we can be better at finding it!

Taggart Student Center, More Info




Wednesday, October 18

11:30 am - 12:30 pm    Testing like a pro

Workshop / Academic Success Center (ASC)

It is possible to do better on tests just by the way you approach the questions. Common sense and critical thinking are key strategies. You can come away with how to make a testing strategy and remember more for the test.

HPER Building, More Info


12:00 pm - 1:30 pm    Graduate Training Series: Common Grad School Mistakes and How to Avoid Them

Workshop / School of Graduate Studies

Grad school can sometimes be tricky waters to navigate, but there’s no better way to learn how than from your peers. At this GrTS, grad students who have recently finished or will soon finish their degrees will share their advice on how to be successful, followed by a Q&A session and general discussion on topics important to you.

Merrill-Cazier Library, More Info




Thursday, October 19

No activities this day



Friday, October 20

No activities this day



Saturday, October 21

No activities this day



Sunday, October 22

No activities this day



Monday, October 23

No activities this day



Tuesday, October 24

No activities this day



Wednesday, October 25

12:30 pm - 1:30 pm    Relationships 1010: Basic Rights and Responsibilities that Build Healthy Connections

Workshop / Counseling and Psychological Services

This workshop is for individuals and couples who are interested in learning new ways to strengthen their connections with significant others.

Taggart Student Center, More Info




Thursday, October 26

1:30 pm - 2:30 pm    How to Talk to Your Professor

Workshop / Academic Success Center (ASC)

There's more to a professor than just the grade they give. Come learn how to effectively communicate with your professors to get more out of your classes.

Taggart Student Center, More Info


5:00 pm - 6:30 pm    Thoughts - Feelings - Behaviors

Workshop / Counseling and Psychological Services

Skills related to effectively modifying thoughts, utilizing emotions, and choosing behaviors will be discussed and practiced.

Taggart Student Center, More Info




Friday, October 27

No activities this day



Saturday, October 28

No activities this day



Sunday, October 29

No activities this day



Monday, October 30

No activities this day



Tuesday, October 31

1:30 pm - 2:30 pm    Increasing your Aptitude for Gratitude! - Positive Living Series

Workshop / Counseling and Psychological Services

This educational/experiential workshop series is designed to help guide your attention back from life’s challenges to things that can cultivate more positivity in our lives. Feel free to come to any or all of the workshops in this series. Come explore ways to recognize and practice the feeling, thoughts, and actions of gratitude for your life.

Taggart Student Center, More Info