The map below shows the number of inhabitants a region can hold, including all types of mortal players and numina. A +1 designation means that one seat is reserved for the rex of that region. Lines indicate adjacent regions between which overland travel is permitted. There are three types of regions: Provinciae (Provinces), Regna (Kingdoms) and Rome.

Map of The Roman Empire


Sedes (Seating). Each region supports only a limited number of players inhabiting it at one time. The following are the population limits:



Gaul, Asia Minor
Five (5) Inhabitants
Spain, N. Italy, Syria
Four (4) Inhabitants
Greece, Sicily, S. Italy
Three (3) Inhabitants

Regna: No other player including numina may inhabit the throne belonging to a rex.

Four (4) Inhabitants, plus Cleopatra/Ptolemy (5 total)
Three (3) Inhabitants, plus Pacorus (4 total)
Germania (Terra Germanorum) and Mauretania
Two (2) Inhabitants, plus Ariovistus/Bogud (3 total)

Rome: Because it lies at the heart of the civilized world, Rome may support as many as twelve (12) mortal players. Venus and Mars may inhabit Rome without taking a seat.

Twelve (12) Inhabitants


Gemini (Additional Players). There should be roughly fifteen to twenty more seats than the number of mortal players. Therefore, if roles are added to the Game by doubling senatores, seating should be adjusted accordingly.


All things atrocious and shameless flock from all parts to Rome.