Skip to main content

School Library Media Administration Endorsement: Endorsement

School Library Media Administration Endorsement

You can take this as an undergraduate minor for fifteen credits. Graduate students can complete the work for an endorsement through the Utah Board of Education. Courses are provided by USU Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences.

The School Library Media Administration (SLMA) program at Utah State University (USU) is designed for those interested in working in a school library media center, public or private. The program includes all the course work and practicum experiences necessary to apply for the Utah State Office of Education (USOE) library media K-12 endorsement. Those seeking the USOE endorsement must have, or be working toward, a current and valid Utah teaching license. This program is offered through the Department of Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences (ITLS) in the Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services (CEHS).

For more information, visit http://itls.usu.edu/programs/slmame.


Julie Barlow, PhD, Utah State University
Instructor
Area: School Library Administration
Office: Off campus
Phone: N/A
Email: gar.barlow@comcast.net


Brian Belland, PhD, Purdue University
Associate Professor
Area: Scaffolding, problem-based learning, psychometrics, STEM education, service learning, technology integration
Office: EDUC 207
Phone: (435) 797-2535
Email: brian.belland@usu.edu


Jody Clarke-Midura, EdD, Harvard Graduate School of Education
Assistant Professor
Area: Immersive Virtual Environments, Games, Simulations, Assessment, Collaborative Learning & Assessment, Equity in STEM education, Scale of Technology
Office: EDUC 214
Phone: (435) 797-0571
Email: jody.clarke@usu.edu


JaDene Denniston, BS, Utah State University
Adjunct Instructor
Area: School Library Administration
Office: Off Campus
Phone: N/A
Email: jadenniston@comcast.net


David Feldon, PhD, University of Southern California
Professor
Area: Development of research skills within STEM disciplines
Office: EBLS 242
Phone: (435) 797-0556
Email: david.feldon@usu.edu


Deborah Fields, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Temporary Assistant Professor
Area: Identity, connective ethnography, children's online media (virtual worlds, social networking forums, DIY sites), computational thinking
Office:
Phone: (435) 797-2694
Email: deborah.fields@usu.edu


Sheri Haderlie, PhD, Utah State University
Program Advisor and Senior Lecturer
Area: School library media administration and adult Learners
Office: EDUC 284
Phone: (435) 764-8764
Email: sheri.haderlie@usu.edu


Yanghee Kim, PhD, Florida State University
Associate Professor
Area: Pedagogical agents, teacher education, instructional design, learning theory, intelligent tutoring systems, human/computer interaction
Office: EDUC 211
Phone: (435) 797-2653
Email: yanghee.kim@usu.edu


Victor Lee, PhD, Northwestern University
Associate Professor
Area: Visual representations, curriculum design, cognitive science, everyday and intuitive reasoning, conceptual change
Office: EDUC 227
Phone: (435)797-7562
Email: victor.lee@usu.edu


Breanne Litts, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Assistant Professor
Area: Learning through design/making, Makerspaces, Mobile Technologies, Design Thinking, Computational Thinking, Collaborative Learning, Assessment, Culturally Responsive Making, Equity & Accessibility, Design Research, Research-Practice Partnerships
Office: EDUC 205
Phone: (435) 797-0142
Email: breanne.litts@usu.edu


Mimi Recker, PhD, University of California – Berkeley
Professor
Area: Cognitive modeling, interactive learning
Office: EDUC 215
Phone: (435) 797-2692
Email: mimi.recker@usu.edu


Kristin Searle, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Assistant Professor
Area:
Office: EDUC 209
Phone: (435) 797-5789
Email: kristin.searle@usu.edu


Andy Walker, PhD, Utah State University
Department Head, Associate Professor
Area: Problem-based learning, collaborative information filtering, situated cognition
Office: EDUC 201
Phone: (435) 797-2614
Email: andy.walker@usu.edu