Utah State University Logo

Professional Achievements and Awards

DOUGLAS JACKSON-SMITH, Sociology, AGree Research Committee - one of nine members responsible for commissioning studies and facilitating dialogue about methods for improving the country's food and agricultural systems.

SANDRA GILLAM, Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education, Editor, American Journal of Speech Language Pathology.

ROBERT SCHMIDT, Environment and Society, 2011 NASPA Outstanding Faculty Award: Service Learning Coordinator.

J.R. DENNISON, Physics, National Research Council of the National Academies Research Associateship.

BONNIE PITBLADO, Anthropology, American Anthropology Association/Oxford University Press Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

JACK SCHMIDT, Watershed Sciences, U.S. Geological Survey Appointment and National Park Service Director's Award.

WYNN WALKER, Civil and Environmental Engineering, USU International Professor of the Year Award.

JUAN VILLALBA, Wildland Resources, United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization Panel Appointment.

Jim Cangelosi

BRIAN WARNICK, Agricultural Systems Technology and Education, Outstanding Early Career Member Award, American Association for Agricultural Education.

LON YOUNGBERG, Welding Technology, USU Eastern, Gold Medal in Welding Fabrication, 2011 Skills USA National.

LAURIE MCNEILL, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Outstanding Young Alumna, Virginia Tech.

RAY REUTZEL, Endowed Chair, Emma Eccles Jones Center for Early Childhood Education, Inductee to the International Reading Hall of Fame.

CINDY DEWEY, Music, Appointed Chair for the National Association of Teachers of Singing.

JIM BARTA, Teacher Education and Leadership, elected President of the North American Study Group in Ethnomathemathics.

FRY STREET QUARTET, Music, Utah Best in State Award for Instrumental Group.

RECOGNIZED FOR HIS DEDICATION to students and contributions to the field of math education, Jim Cangelosi was named a 2011 Carnegie Professor of the Year, one of 31 professors from across the nation selected for this year's prestigious honor. Cangelosi, a Louisiana native, is the 11th Utah State professor to receive the award since the program's 1981 inception. USU boasts more Carnegie Professors of the Year than any other of its peer institutions.

LINDA L'AI, Edith Bowen Laboratory School, Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

JANIS BOETTINGER, Plants Soils, and Climate, presented with the 2011 Cooperator Acheivement Award from The National Cooperative Soil Survey.