Peer Advising Program

Utah State University Logo

Outstanding Peer Advisors

The Outstanding Peer Advisor Award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated qualities associated with oustanding peer advising. Two peer advisors will be recognized each year. All peer advisors are eligible to be nominated.

The Nomination Instructions (accessed below) are distributed to all departmental supervisors and peer advisors during the middle of the Spring Semester . Nominations may be made by anyone in the USU community (i.e. department supervisors, peer advisors, administrators, students, etc.). Winners are chosen by a committee composed of a minimum of three individuals familiar with the mission of the program that includes a student representative.

Winners receive a certificate and a gift from the USU Bookstore.

Nomination Instructions for the Outstanding Peer Advisor Award.


Current Award Winners 2014-2015

Josh Barrow (2014-2015)

Josh BarrowCollege of Agriculture – Aviation
(Supervisor: Kaylee Roholt)


Chandler Whitlock (2014-2015)

Chander WhitlockUniversity Advising
(Supervisors: Susan Haddock & Bryan Olson)


Past Award Winners

Zac Zabriskie (2013-2014)

Zac Zabriskie Health Professions
(Supervisor: Yvonne Kobe)


Melissa Ogilvie (2013-2014)

Melissa Ogilvie Biology
(Supervisor: Polly Conrad)


Abigale Griffeths (2012-2013)

Abigale Griffiths Elementary Education
(Supervisor: Denise Taylor)


Ashlee Diamond (2012-2013)

AshleeDiamond Agriculture - ASTE
(Supervisor: Lisa Allen)


Bryan Mortensen (2011-2012)

Bryan Mortensen University Advising
(Supervisor: Susan Haddock)


Cheris Henderson (2011-2012)

Cheris Henderson Languages, Philosophy and Speech Communication
(Supervisor: Kathy McKee)


Daniel Stevens (2011-2012)

Daniel Stevens Nutrition
(Supervisor: Janet Anderson)

Dan Clark (2010-2011)

Dan Clark Academic Resource Center
(Supervisor: Debbie Jensen)

Kwin Willis (2010-2011)

Kwin Willis Psychology
(Supervisor: Karen Ranson)

Jill Hicken (2009-2010)

Jill Hicken Health Education
(Supervisor: Mary Lou Reynolds)

Mason Andersen (2009-2010)

Mason Andersen Biology
(Supervisor: Yvonne Kobe)

Amberly Bown (2007-2008)

Amberly Bown Social Work
(Supervisor: Terry Peak)

James Young (2007-2008)

James Young Anthropology
(Supervisor: Pat Lambert)

Karilyn Flake (2006-2007)

Karilyn Flake University Advising
(Supervisor: Susan Haddock)

Dawnie Elzinga (2005 - 2006)

Nutrition and Food Sciences
(Supervisor: Emily Hoffman)

Gentri Seawright (2005 - 2006)

Elementaty Education
(Supervisor: Dawn Black)

Jessica Smith (2005 - 2006)

Family and Consumer Sciences Education
(Supervisor: Betty Murri)

Dawn Black (2004 - 2005)

Family, Consumer and Human Development
(Supervisor: Marilyn Kruse)

Natalie Gochnour (2004 - 2005)

Plant, Soils and Biometeorology
(Supervisor: Cathy Myers-Roche)

Annie Anderson (2003 - 2004)

Academic Resource Center
(Supervisor: Noelle Call)

Melissa Bowles (2003 - 2004)

(Supervisor: Jane Kay Lunstad)

Courtney Rowe (2003 - 2004)

Elementary Education
(Supervisor: Sheri Noble)

Buck Benson (2002 - 2003)

(Supervisor: Bonnie Glass-Coffin)

Lynette Weston (2002 - 2003)

Family and Consumer Sciences Education
(Supervisor: Julie Wheeler)

April Talbot (2001 - 2002)

Humanities, Arts & Social Science
(Supervisor: Susan Parkinson)

Jennifer Beus (2001 - 2002)

Family & Consumer Sciences
(Supervisor: Marilyn Kruse)

Brandy Trygstad (2000 - 2001)

Languages, Philosophy and Speech Communication
(Supervisor: Kathy McKee)