Skip to main content

Welcome to the USU College of Science

Chemists working on reusable battery redox reactions in the lab

Find a Degree

With 30+ undergraduate degrees and 20 graduate degrees, the college of science and its five academic departments offer many options to students who want to study science at Utah State University.

Science students and Math Advisor Linda Skabelund on the USU Quad

Find an Advisor

Our academic advisors are here to help you navigate your studies. Whether you're in need of academic advice or a signature, schedule an appointment with them today.

Find your Path

Find your bearings and get involved in something you're passionate about. Whether that's research, academic competitions, or student government, there's something for everyone at USU.


Coming to life

The campaign to build a new Life Sciences Building at Utah State University

Every aspiring Aggie scientist, engineer, physician and teacher, along with those who dream of hundreds of other futures, enters Utah State University with the need for a solid foundation of science learning. Each student yearns for an academic environment that fuels curiosity, discovery and propels them toward life-enhancing, world-transforming opportunities.

USU's College of Science strives to fulfill these dreams by providing critical, gateway courses in biology, chemistry and other disciplines that enable students in all of the university's colleges to reach higher and achieve growing benchmarks of excellence. Read More

USU-Uintah Basin student Makenzi--Breitenbach

USU-Uintah Basin Student Receives URCO Grant to Study Local Air Quality

Makenzie Breitenbach, a biology undergraduate student at Utah State University Uintah Basin, was awarded the Undergraduate Research and Creative Opportunity (URCO) grant to perform research on local emissions and air quality. She is working with...

Continue Reading

How 'Year without Summer' Shaped USU Inaugural Professor's Trajectory

If you ask Utah State University professor John Stevens a question, you’ll often get the same answer. “It depends.” It’s not because Stevens is indecisive. It’s because he’s a statistician. “With traditional statistical analysis, you assume your data...

Continue Reading

USU Bee Surveys in Newest National Park Could Aid Studies Elsewhere

Declines in native bee populations are widely reported, but can existing data really analyze these trends? In the Jan. 17, 2019, online edition of PLOS One, Utah State University and USDA researchers report findings about pollinator biodiversity in...

Continue Reading