Skip to main content

College of Natural Resources Honors Top Scholars

Thursday, Apr. 16, 2009

Dustin Ranglack, College of Natural Resources 2009 Outstanding Senior

Fall 2008 graduate Dustin Ranglack was named College of Natural Resources Outstanding Senior. An undergraduate teaching fellow, college ambassador and peer advisor, he is now employed with the USFS Rocky Mountain Research Station in Missoula, Mont.

Kelly Sivy, College of Natural Resources valedictorian and award recipient

CNR valedictorian Kelly Sivy, a conservation and restoration ecology major, is the college's Scholar of the Year and Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.

Utah State University’s College of Natural Resources recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at an awards banquet March 28.

“We’re proud of these outstanding scholars and applaud their achievements,” said Nat B. Frazer, CNR dean.
Dustin Ranglack was named CNR Outstanding Senior and Wildland Resources Department Outstanding Senior.
Outstanding Senior for the Department of Environment and Society is Anna Wilson, and Ben Abbott is Outstanding Senior for the Department of Watershed Sciences.
CNR valedictorian Kelly Sivy was named Scholar of the Year and Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year. Richie Gardner was honored as Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.
Shannon Moore, who serves as the college’s 2008-09 ASUSU student senator, was chosen by her classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper Award, given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement. Corrie Wallace was selected as the college’s nominee for the Legacy of Utah State Award.
Graduate student David Dahlgren was named Research Assistant of the Year and grad student Tracy Bowerman was honored as Teaching Assistant of the Year.
Among the college’s faculty and staff, Fee Busby was named Advisor of the Year and Wayne Wurtsbaugh was honored as Teacher of the Year. Jack Schmidt was honored as Researcher of the Year and Gene Schupp was named Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Jeffrey Burnham was named Employee of the Year.
Undergraduate and graduate students honored through a scholarship and fellowship program established by the S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation were named at the campus gathering. Undergraduate Quinney Scholars are Kourtney Blanc, Matthew Bowen, Brittney Clark, Brooke Evans, Katherine Fisher, Erin Fleming, Eric Freeman, Laura Hansen, Daniel Howell, Nicholas Kacmarczyk, Shannon Kay, Hesper Kohler, Amy Rohman, Kirsten Schiel and Amanda Wignall.
Graduate Quinney Fellows are Charles Caudill, Ryan Choy, Aldo Compagnoni, Ashley D’ Antonio, Rebecca Ditz, David Epstein, Susannah Erwin, Stacy Frisk, Gary Howes, Joanna Hsu, Rebecca Manners, Nathaniel Millard, Amanda Murray, Daniel Olson, Emily Price, Seth Price, Andrew Rayburn, Hilary Rogers Whitcomb, Lisa Williamson Welsh, Christopher Wheeler, Clemence Pascale Williams and Gong Zhang.
Numerous other scholarships and fellowships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were awarded at the campus gathering. Recipients included Tyler Allen, Thayne Aubrey, Dani Babbel, Jessica Bengtson, Levi Bennington, Donovan Birch, Jessop Boden, Daniel Bowen, Dylan Brown, Jason Carlisle, Deborah Collins, Janessa Chew, Joseph Crawford, Hailey Crozier, Michael Davis, Justin Elsner, Brooke Evans, Seth Ex, Dennen Frazier, Jason Folkman, Cari Forsgren, Richie Gardner, Eric Gause, Natalie Gibson, Wess Gibson, Michael Haney, Leah Hazlett, Peter Howard, Kenneth Howell, Larry Johnson, Amber Kacherian, Michelle Kang, Caleb Kauffmann, Shannon Kay, Tony Kusbach, Christy Meredith, Preston Mickelson, Scott Miller, Devin Olsen, Ryan Peterson, Emilee Poppleton, Kara Purser-Thompson, Rachel Pyles, Taylor Ransom, Beth Ross, Gilbert Rowley, Jake Russell, Danny Sadleir, Heather Schiffman, Crest Simeon, Alyssa Steadman, David Stoner, Kalen Throop, Makeda Trujillo, Ashley Walker Workman, Melissa Wardle, Robert Watson, Chalese West and David Wiegman.
Related link:
Contact: Mary Ann Lowe, (435) 797-2452,
Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, (435) 797-3517,

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU