Skip to main content

College of Natural Resources Honors Top Scholars

Thursday, Apr. 12, 2012

Erin Fleming Jones

Quinney Scholar Erin Fleming Jones is 2012 College of Natural Resources Scholar of the Year.

Caitlin Laughlin

Caitlin Laughlin was chosen by her classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper Award, an honor given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement.

Utah State University’s College of Natural Resources recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at an April 7, 2012, awards banquet in the Stevenson Ballroom of the Taggart Student Center on campus.

“We’re proud of these outstanding scholars and applaud their achievements,” said Chris Luecke, professor and interim dean for the college.

Erin Fleming Jones is the college’s Scholar of the Year and Shannon Kay was recognized as Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.

Daniel Howell was named College of Natural Resources Outstanding Senior and Department of Wildland Resources Outstanding Senior.

Outstanding Senior for the Department of Environment and Society is Katlin Eyre and Christian T. Smith is Outstanding Senior for the Department of Watershed Sciences.

Caitlin Laughlin was chosen by her classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper award, an honor given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement.

Brooke Evans, who graduates this spring with a bachelor’s degree in geography and French, is the college’s Valedictorian. Lisa M. Boyd is the college’s nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award.

Blake Thomas was honored as College of Natural Resources Student Senator for the 2011-12 academic year and served as master of ceremonies for the event.

Ryan O’Donnell was named Graduate Research Assistant of the Year and Justin Stout was honored as Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year. Tony Roberts served as Graduate Student Senator for the college during the 2011-12 academic year.

Among the college’s faculty and staff, Layne Coppock was honored as Researcher of the Year and Fee Busby was recognized as Teacher of the Year. Claudia Radel was named Advisor of the Year and Helga Van Miegroet was honored as Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Becky Hirst was named Employee of the Year.

Thirty-five undergraduates were honored as Quinney Scholars and 18 graduate students were honored as Quinney Fellows at the gathering. The students are recipients of scholarship and fellowship programs established by the S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation.

Numerous other scholarships and fellowships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were awarded at the campus gathering. Recipients include Kallie Alexander, Jess Batty, Samantha Beirne, Lette Benson, Chloe Bickmore, Kourtney Blanc, Lisa M. Boyd, Colin Brady, Carlee Coleman, Chelsea DeMarco, Brittany Duncan, George Fawson, Katherine Fisher, Cari Forsgren, Jillian Gleave, Ashley Graham, Colton Grange, Clayton Handy, Justin Hanton, Kaitlin Hasler, Leah Hazlett, Molly Hocanson, Kenneth Howell, Rachael Hunsaker, Martha Jensen, Aerika Jepperson, Hesper Kohler, Spencer Leavitt, Christopher Lewis, Cody Lind, Jordan Linnell, Jessica Mathews, McKenna Maxwell, Jonathan McBride, Rachelle Messner, Hannah Nadeau, Molly Olson, Kimberly Palmer, Nicholle Peng, Dustin Ranglack, Jedidiah Reeder, Jamie Reynolds, Tony Roberts, Brian Rozick, Natalie Schvaneveldt, Robert Schultz, Christian T. Smith, Jared Stapp, Michaela Stuver, Blake Thomas, Uelun Tuvshinjargal, and Bethany Unger.

Related Link

USU College of Natural Resources

Contact: Mykel Beorchia,, 435-797-2473

Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto,, 435-797-3517  

Add new Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU