Skip to main content

Quinney College of Natural Resources Honors Top Scholars

Thursday, Apr. 18, 2013

Chelsea DeMarco, Quinney College Valedictorian and Scholar of the Year

New York native Chelsea DeMarco is the 2013 Quinney College of Natural Resources Valedictorian and Scholar of the Year.

Clayton Handy, Quinney College Undergraduate Teacher of the Year

Clayton Handy, an Idaho native, is the Quinney College of Natural Resources' nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award. He is also the college’s Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.

Utah State University’s S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at a March 23, 2013, awards banquet in the Stevenson Ballroom of the Taggart Student Center on campus.

“We’re proud of these outstanding scholars and applaud their achievements,” said Chris Luecke, professor and dean of the college.

Chelsea DeMarco is valedictorian and the college’s Scholar of the Year. Konrad Hafen was recognized as the college’s Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.

Hesper Kohler was named College of Natural Resources Outstanding Senior and Department of Environment and Society Outstanding Senior. Chance Broderius was honored as Outstanding Senior for the Department of Watershed Sciences.

George Fawson is Outstanding Senior for the Department of Wildland Resources. Fawson was also chosen by his classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper Award, an honor given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement.

Clayton Handy is the college’s nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award. Handy was also honored as the college’s Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.

Elizabeth Kirkham was honored as College of Natural Resources Student Senator for the 2012-13 academic year and served as master of ceremonies for the event.

Rodrigo Ferreira was named Graduate Research Assistant of the Year and Jonathan Meyer was honored as Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year.

Among the college’s faculty and staff, David Koons was honored as both Researcher of the Year and Teacher of the Year. Mark Brunson was named Advisor of the Year and Zhao Ma was honored as Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Marsha Bailey was named Employee of the Year.

Current Quinney Scholars are undergraduates Patrick Adams, Amanda Cox, Mark Devey, Katherine Fisher, Stephanie Hall, Konrad Hafen, Kourtney Blanc Harding, Nicholas Kaczmarczyk, Shane Kitchen, Hesper Kohler, Quinn Larson, Denton Nielson, Kari Norman, Benjamin Poulsen, Amy Rohman, Kirsten Schiel, Olivia Schwanda, Heather Shipp, Molly Van Engelenhoven, Audree Van Valkenburg and Sarah Woodbury. Current Quinney Fellows are graduate students Aldo Compagnoni, Kelly Goonan, Bryan Kluever, Daniel Kinka, Michel Kohl and Tony Roberts. The students are recipients of scholarship and fellowship programs established by the S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation.

Numerous other scholarships and fellowships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were awarded at the campus gathering. Recipients include David Baird, Lette Benson, Chloe Bickmore, Kara Bolander, Colin Brady, Justin Brimhall, Jason Brown, DaShell Burnham, Jordan Burningham, Amberly Burrows, Cody Butler, Hadyn Carson, Shanalee Chugg, Andrew Coonan, Ethan DeVilbiss, Cody Edwards, Adam Fisher, Brandon Flack, Joshua Gilbert, Elizabeth Goss, Konrad Hafen, Abigail Hancock, Kourtney Harding, Molly Hocanson, Christopher Holmes, Justin Hanton, Morgan Hughes, Rachael Hunsaker, Kory Ingersoll, Patrick Jackson, Aerika Jepperson, Trenton Knutson, Michel Kohl, Rian Lawrence, Spencer Leavitt, Jordan Lofthouse, Kaylee Lofthouse, McKenna Maxwell, Eric Miller, Lindsey Mortensen, Hannah Nadeau, Gaia Nafzinger, Wesley Newman, Adam Peterson, Dustin Ranglack, Jed Reeder, Bryce Roholt, Natalie Schvaneveldt, Sara Simmons, Jordan Smith, Konnon Smith, Megan Squire, John Steffan, Sarah Stringham, Michaela Stuver, Brad Trauntvine, Bethany Unger, Camille Waters, Heather Winegar and Jason Wood.

The Quinney College of Natural Resources includes the academic departments Environment and Society, Watershed Sciences and Wildland Resources.

Related link:

USU College of Natural Resources

Contact: Mykel Beorchia, 435-797-2473,

Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, 435-797-3517,

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU