Skip to main content

Quinney College of Natural Resources Honors Top Scholars

Thursday, Mar. 24, 2016

USU professor James Long

Professor James 'Jim' Long is the inaugural recipient of QCNR’s newly established Theodore W. Daniel Professorship in Forestry. Long presents the Natural Resources Week keynote address March 30, at 4 p.m. in NR 105. All are welcome.

USU scholar Brianne Palmer

Brianne Palmer is the Quinney College of Natural Resources' Scholar of the Year and Outstanding Senior for the Department of Wildland Resources. She was chosen by her classmates to receive the 2016 Jardine Juniper Award.

Utah State University’s S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at a March 19, 2016, awards banquet in the Stevenson Ballroom of the Taggart Student Center on campus.

“We’re proud of these outstanding scholars and applaud their achievements,” said Chris Luecke, QCNR dean.

Patrick Adams, the college’s 2015-16 Student Senator, served as master of ceremonies for the event.

Wildland Resources professor James Long was honored at the first recipient of the college’s newly established Theodore W. Daniel Professorship in Forestry. The professorship is supported by an endowment established by the late Professor Theodore ‘Doc’ Daniel and his son, Bill Daniel.

Long, who was mentored by Daniel, presents a keynote address honoring the former professor, who led USU summer forestry camp training for more than 40 years, Wednesday, March 30, at 4 p.m. in NR 105, during QCNR’s 2016 Natural Resources Week. All are welcome.

Dakota Reed is the college’s Valedictorian.

Brianne Palmer is the college’s Scholar of the Year and was also recognized as Outstanding Senior for the Department of Wildland Resources. In addition, Palmer was chosen by her classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper Award, an honor given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement.

Tim Beach was honored as Outstanding Senior for the Department of Watershed Sciences and Patrick Adams was named Outstanding Senior for the Department of Environment and Society. Adams also received the QCNR Outstanding Senior Award.

Arthur Wallis was recognized as the college’s Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year and Tim Beach was honored as the college’s Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.

Saul Karamesines is the college’s nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award

David Iles was named Graduate Research Assistant of the Year and Jarod Raithel was honored as Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year.

Among the college’s faculty and staff, Juan Villalba was honored as Researcher of the Year and Claudia Radel was named Teacher of the Year. James Long is Advisor of the Year and Graduate Mentor of the Year. Kari Veblen was honored as Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Fee Busby received the College Faculty Service Award and Kay Kelsey was honored as Employee of the Year.

Quinney Scholars are undergraduates Patrick Adams, Sierra Allen, Dylan Anderson, Erin Butikofer, Justine Cornwall, Hyatt Glenn, Kenen Goodwin, Kylee Hall, Stephanie Hall, Margaret Hallerud, Anders Hart, Shandrea Hickok, Rylee Jensen, Brett Mossman, Kari Norman, Delaney Phariss, Olivia Schwanda, Heather Shipp, Jacob Stout, Joseph Tate, Angelica Traslavina, Casey Trout, Molly Van Engelenhoven, Audree Van Valkenburg, Cheyne Warren, Darianne Willey, Sarah Woodbury and Timothy Woodruff.

Quinney Fellows are graduate students Mitchel Donovan, Colton Finch, Daniel Kinka, Michel Kohl, Eric LaMalfa and Gwendwr Meredith.

Quinney Scholars and Fellows are recipients of scholarship and fellowship programs established by the S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation.

Numerous other scholarships and fellowships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were awarded at the campus gathering. Recipients include Cade Andrus, Hali Barkley, Patrick Barrus, Matthew Bishop, Emily Black, Antra Boca, Steve Boles, Katelyn Boyer, Logan Christian, Debbie Clark, Holly Clark, Claire Core, Annalisa Crow, Adam Fisher, Jesse Fleri, Nathan Floyd, Jennifer Gardner, Spencer George, Brooks Gunderson, Thomas Hafen, Jenny Harris, Anders Hart, Lucas Henzler, Haylie Hill, Jessica Hollingshead, Lauren Holt, Megan Jamison, Aerika Jepperson, Jeremy Johnson, Saul Karamesines, David Lloyd, Anna Maki, Rachel McCorkle, Kassidy Merritt, Megan Monroe, Paige Morgan, Bret Mossman, Leandro do Nascimento, Janelle Nelson, Delany Phariss, Hayley Rasmussen, Alison Reese, Megan Rhead,  Chasen Robbins, Christine Rohal, Trevor Shafer, Taylor Shamo, Stephanie Simandl, Raychel Skay, Shelby Staples, Jacob Stout, Savannah Taylor, Jacqueline Thelen, Molly Van Engelenhoven, Cheyne Warren, Darianne Willey, Elizabeth Winters and Sarah Woodbury.

The Quinney College of Natural Resources includes the academic departments Environment and Society, Watershed Sciences and Wildland Resources.

Related link:

2016 Natural Resources Week

USU Quinney College of Natural Resources

Contact: Traci Hillyard, 435-797-2452,

Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, 435-797-3517,

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU