Skip to main content

USU College of Science Recognizes Top Scholars of 2018

Friday, Apr. 06, 2018

USU Science Valedictorian Katie Sweet

Katie Sweet, a physics, mathematics and computer science major, is the 2018 USU College of Science Valedictorian. She and other Aggie Scientists were honored at an April 5, 2018, banquet.

Science graduate student awardees

Sidney Tate, a mathematics, actuarial science and economics major, is the 2018 College of Science Scholar of the Year. He was among the college's students, faculty and staff honored at an April 5, 2018, banquet.

Utah State University’s College of Science hosted an awards ceremony and banquet April 5, 2018, to recognize the college’s top scholars.

“Today we honor our students for their hard work and for their service,” said College of Science Dean Maura Hagan. “We also honor our faculty and staff for their mentorship of students, excellence in research and their efforts in providing meaningful learning opportunities.”
Valedictorian for the college is Katie Sweet and the college’s Scholar of the Year is Sidney Tate.

Lauren Colquitt, Jamie Hansen and Joshua Hibbard were recognized as Dean’s Scholars.

Mikaela Pulsipher is the college’s Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year and Tanner Nielsen was recognized as the college’s Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.

Tien Lindsay was honored as the college’s 2017-2018 Legacy of Utah State Awardee.

College of Science student senator Travis Dowdle was recognized for his service during the 2017-18 academic year.  

David Maughan was recognized for receiving Honorable Mention from the Goldwater Foundation.

Abram Bernard, Camden DeBruler, Zach Gibson, Jill Lundell, Robert McDermott, Elizabeth Ogata, Randall Reese, Elizabeth Simpson, Amy Springer, Tatiana Soboleva, Mathangi Soundararajan, Emily Virgin and Brinley Zabriskie were recognized as the college’s USU Presidential Doctoral Research Fellows.

Graduate Student (PhD) Researcher of the Year is Nan Jiang and Graduate Student (MS) Researcher of the Year is James Mauch.

Sandra Lundell was recognized as Graduate Student Teacher of the Year.

Graduate students Jordan Jensen and Makenna Johnson were recognized as recipients of 2018 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.

Margo Morgan was honored as Non-Exempt Staff Member of the Year and Buckley Banham was honored as Exempt Staff Member of the Year.

James Coburn was honored for 10 years of service in leading the USU Department of Physics’ popular November Demo Show.

Faculty Teacher of the Year is Greg Wheeler and Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year is Carol Dehler

Alexis Ault was honored as Faculty Researcher of the Year and Susannah French was named Graduate Mentor of the Year.

Paul Wolf received the college’s Faculty University Service Award.

Nancy Huntly was recognized for her induction into the 2018 Class of the Ecological Society of America Fellows.

David Peak was honored as the 2018 recipient of the national Council on Undergraduate Research-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor Award.

Andy Anderson, James Cangelosi and Richard Mueller were honored for 35 years of service. Ted Evans, Sharon Pappas, Nancy Kay Pierson and Vincent Wickwar were recognized for 30 years of service. 

Geri Child was honored for 25 years of service. Recognized for 20 years of service were Shane Brewer, Ludger Scherliess, TC Shen, Greg Wheeler and Dariusz Wilczynski.

John Flores, Douglas Harris, Mary-Ann Muffoletto, Pierre Pautet, Linda Skabelund and Tonya Triplett were honored for 15 years of service.

Scott Bernhardt, Erin Bobeck, Donald Busenbark, Shana Geffeney, Kimberly Hageman, Brendan McLellan, Yi Rao and Jia Zhao were recognized as first-year faculty members.

Butch Brodie, Farrell Edwards, Bradley Kropp, Melanie Nelson, Sharon Pappas and Henry Zwick were honored upon their retirement from the university.

Read more about the honorees on the college’s Awards Web page.

The College of Science includes the academic departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Mathematics and Statistics, Geology and Physics.
Related Link:
USU College of Science 
Contact: Maura Hagan, 435-797-2478,
Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, 435-797-3517,

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU