Skip to main content

USU Holds 60th Annual Robins Awards

Wednesday, Apr. 18, 2018

Michael Scott Peters receiving the Man of the Year award

Michael Scott Peters receives the Man of the Year award. Image by Holley Stringham.

The Student Life section of Utah State Today highlights work written by the talented student journalists at Utah State University. Each week, the editor selects a story that has been published in The Utah Statesman for inclusion in Utah State Today.

By Shelby Black, Utah Statesman, Sunday, April 15, 2018 

2018 marked the 60th anniversary of Utah State University’s most prestigious award ceremony.

The Robins Awards is held in honor of the late Bill Robins who contributed much to the university. Awards given help recognize outstanding faculty and students who truly represent and devote time to Utah State University.The night began by honoring faculty members with several awards. Several professors and staff members who have shown superior service and dedication to the university received awards.

Student awards were then given out. The recipient of Master Student Researcher of the year award was Susan Washko. Washko is a ecology student researcher and spends her time studying beavers and how they affect streams along with studies of trout.

“It feels good to be awarded tonight. I have come a long way with my research and this is such a honor,” Washko said.

Several other awards for student researchers and faculty researcher were given out. The Legacy of Utah State Award is given out to a student who embodies the true spirit of Utah State University. This year’s recipient was Tien Thuy Lindsay. She has served with tours in the Middle East with the United States Army and will now be pursuing a master’s degree biology.
Both female and male athlete of the year were given to USU’s top runners. Alyssa Snyder and Dillon Maggard have both shattered various school records and led Utah State cross country to huge victories.

“This is two times in a row for me so it feels good to be awarded again. It’s been a lot of hard work and miles to get here. I credit my success to my coaches for working with me,” Maggard said.

The Caine College of the Arts awards an individual with the Talent of the Year award. This award is presented to someone who demonstrates outstanding work in music, art, or theater. Katie Fay Francis was this years winner. Francis is a senior acting major. She will be making her acting debut this summer at the Utah Shakespeare festival.

Two other significant awards given out were man and woman of the year. USUSA President Michael Scott Peters received Man of the year. Peters has put in many hours to improving Utah State.

Woman of the Year was Emily Turner. Emily Turner has earned as many degrees as many years shes been in college. During her four years at Utah State, Turner has majored in International Business, Economics, Political Science, Asian Studies and minored in Chinese.

“I was so surprised to win. I know all these girls and they are all amazing. I just try to work hard and be nice to people. It was really cool tonight to be noticed for that,” Turner said.
Christian Hobbs was awarded the Bill E. Robins memorial award. This award goes to a student who represents the best that Utah State University has to offer. Hobbs is a senior graduating in marketing and business administration with a minor in Spanish. Hobbs served at the President of the USU Ambassadors and helped create the acapella group, The Octaves.

“It was definitely a shock, there was a lot of qualified people so I feel really lucky. I think my experience at Utah State has been everything I could’ve wished for,” Hobbs said. “I think I’ve met some of the most incredible people and had incredible opportunities. I’ve been able to develop as a person. I think getting to this point has just been living through every experience and taking them to heart.”

This year’s Robins awards were given out to many deserving recipients and all categories were filled with talented nominees. Here’s a full recap of the nights winners for each category:

•    Faculty University Service Award — Paul Wolf
•    Faculty Researcher of the Year — Patrick Belmont
•    Master Student Researcher of the Year — Susan Washko
•    Doctoral Student Researcher of the Year — Eric Lee
•    Graduate Student Teacher of the Year — Sandra Lundell
•    Undergraduate Researcher of the Year — Jesse Fleri
•    Professional Advisor of the Year — Tonya Jewell
•    Undergraduate Faculty Mentor of the Year — Lyle G. Mcneal
•    Teacher of the Year — Greg Wheeler
•    Scholar of the Year — Christian Morrill
•    Legacy of Utah State Award — Tien Thuy Lindsay
•    Female Athlete of the Year — Alyssa Snyder
•    Male Athlete of the Year — Dillon Maggard
•    Gerald R. Sherratt Award — Sophia May
•    Talent of the Year — Katie Fay Francis
•    Achievement of the Year — Halston Van Der Sluys
•    Organization of the Year — Student Events Office
•    Val R. Christensen Service Award — Carminda Greenstone
•    Woman of the Year — Emily Turner
•    Man of the Year — Michael Scott Peters
•    Bill E. Robins Memorial Award — Christian Hobbs

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU