Campus Life

USU Recipient among 2019 Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists Awards

USU's Elizabeth Woolcott is the recipient of the 2019 CIMA Innovator Award for revolutionizing the cataloging and metadata workflow for the archival profession.

The Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists (CIMA), an association of archivist, conservators, historians and archival professionals in Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Idaho and New Mexico announces the recipients of the 2019 CIMA Awards for outstanding service and leadership in the archival profession.

Elizabeth Woolcott is the recipient of the 2019 CIMA Innovator Award for revolutionizing the cataloging and metadata workflow for the archival profession. As unit head of Cataloging and Metadata Services (CMS) at Utah State University Libraries, Woolcott’s innovations allows the CMS unit to ingest more than 120,000 records each year, including robust finding aids and digital collections for USU Special Collections & Archives materials. Woolcott and her staff provide access to these records by creating and managing catalog and metadata records for the library’s 5+ million physical and electronic items. She focuses on streamlining these processes for greater efficiency by using batch or automation techniques, which she created. Her work leads to quick ingest of fieldwork deliverables, such as the U.S. Election Reflections Collecting Project launched the day after the 2016 U.S. Presidential Election. Support for many of her outstanding efforts come from outside funding sources, including the Innovative Librarians Explore, Apply and Discover (ILEAD) grant. The ILEAD grant was instrumental in developing the Highway 89 digital collection, a multi-institution thematic digital repository that created a digital archive for material about Highway 89, which she worked with serval curators throughout the CIMA region. 

Other awardees include Alan Barnett with the 2019 CIMA Service Award for his career at the Utah State Archives, where he works to include the records of all of Utah’s 29 counties; Peter Michel with the 2019 CIMA Lifetime Achievement Award for his decades of service and leadership in the archival profession in Nevada; Roger Myers with the 2019 CIMA Mentor Award for his 30 years of mentoring at the University of Arizona Libraries’ Special Collections; and Ilana Short and Kelli Luchs with the 2019 CIMA Special Projects Award for Las Vegas Lineup.

The Conference of Inter-Mountain Archivists will honor the award recipients during a luncheon at the organization’s annual conference held in Tucson, Arizona (May 15-18). The award luncheon is slated for Friday, May 17 at noon, at the Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel.

Visit CIMARCHIVISTS.ORG for more information. 


Elizabeth Woolcott
Cataloging and Metadata Services
Utah State University Libraries


Awards 499stories

Post your Comment

We welcome your comments but your submission will NOT be published online. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Thank you.

Post your Comment

Next Story in Campus Life

See Also


Annual Sub for Santa in Full Swing

Each year, student families who need assistance with funding holiday cheer for their children are able to apply for help through this unique initiative in the Inclusion Center.