Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

ARTsySTEM: The Changing Climates of the Arts and Sciences

This exhibits showcases works of art that share a…


The Dorothy and Herbert Vogel Collection: Fifty Works for Fifty States

This exhibit showcases, for the first time, the…


Wetland Pond Walk -- Swaner EcoCenter

Come take a short wetland walk out to the frog ponds…


The Mystery of Edwin Drood: The Musical -- Lyric Repertory Company

This award-winning and wildly theatrical musical kicks…


What You Need to Know About Social Security Retirement Benefits

Interested in learning about social security retirement…

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

Logan Canyon Winds in Spring Concert

Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2004

Logan Canyon Winds in Spring Concert

LOGAN — The Utah State University music department announces the Spring semester performance of Utah State’s faculty wind quintet, Logan Canyon Winds. The quintet performs Wednesday, March 3, at 7:30 p.m. in the Eccles Conference Center Auditorium on campus. Thanks to the generous support of the Marie Eccles Caine Foundation, this performance is free and open to the public.

Several guests are featured on the program, including a guest oboist and the members of the Caine Woodwind Quintet. Guest oboist Lara Saville joins the quintet for the semester. Saville is completing a doctor of musical arts degree in oboe performance at Arizona State University and teaches oboe at Utah State this semester. She taught as a sabbatical replacement last semester at Brigham Young University and University of Nevada—Las Vegas and also currently plays in the Arizona Opera. 

“The students really enjoy working with her, and have made remarkable progress, this semester,” said clarinetist Nicholas Morrison. “I’m pleased that we can feature Lara on the same performance with our student wind quintet.”

The Caine Quintet, so-called because of the scholarship support members receive from the Marie Eccles Caine Foundation, joins Logan Canyon Winds to present “Nine Characteristic Pieces” by the French composer Jean Françaix. Members of this student quintet (Greta Jo Hays, flute; Kristin M. Anderson, oboe; Christy Murray, clarinet; Rebecca Phillips, horn; and Joseph Jones, bassoon) all study in the music department and are coached by members of Logan Canyon Winds. 

“One of the goals of Logan Canyon Winds is to involve students of all levels with the professional performers in the quintet,” said music department Head Bruce Saperston. “The quintet has commissioned several pieces to involve younger students, and programs works from the standard repertoire to involve Utah State undergraduate students each spring semester. This kind of collaborative learning, not just listening to your teacher, but sitting beside your teacher and performing right along with him or her is an example of the kind of pre-professional training opportunity that the department is proud to offer our students. We’re grateful to the Marie Eccles Caine Foundation for its support of these activities.”

In addition to the “Nine Characteristic Pieces,” Logan Canyon Winds performs “Three Short Pieces” by Jacques Ibert, “Serenade for Wind Quintet” by Ferenc Farkas, “Six Bagatelles” by György Ligeti and a movement of the “Roaring Fork” quintet by American composer Eric Ewazen. These works, all from the last century, exemplify a wide variety of styles in what is most often called “contemporary music.” 

The light-hearted and transparent French style of Ibert and Françaix, the relentless and intensely compact Eastern-European style of Ligeti, the tuneful and haunting melodic writing of Hungarian Farkas, and the evocative programmatic compositional style of American Ewazen will treat the audience to the amazing palette of colors that is the woodwind quintet, Morrison said.

For additional information on Logan Canyon Winds, contact Morrison at (435) 797-3506.

February 20, 2004
Contact: Nicholas Morrison (435) 797-3506

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly