Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

New Student Orientation: SOAR

New Student Orientation for new incoming students and…


ARTsySTEM: The Changing Climates of the Arts and Sciences

This exhibits showcases works of art that share a…


The Dorothy and Herbert Vogel Collection: Fifty Works for Fifty States

This exhibit showcases, for the first time, the…


Artisan Aggie Cheese Tasting & Video Presentation

Sample cheese and learn how it's made!


And Then There Were None -- Lyric Repertory Company

One by one, guests arrive on an isolated island lured by…

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

Utah State's Jennifer Schlott Named MW Women's Basketball Player of Year

Thursday, Mar. 13, 2014

USU's Jennifer Schlott, Mountain West Women's basketball Player of the Year
Jennifer Schlott became the first USU women's basketball player to earn MW Player of the Year honors. (photo from Athletics website)

Utah State [University] senior guard Jennifer Schlott was named the 2014 Mountain West Women's Basketball Player of the Year, becoming the first Aggie women's basketball player to earn Player of the Year honors, as announced by the conference on Sunday [March 9, 2014].


Schlott (Mesa, Ariz.) was also named to the all-Mountain West first-team, becoming the first USU player to all-MW honors. USU is in its first season in the Mountain West. She earned her second-straight postseason honor after earning second-team all-Western Athletic Conference honors last season. The senior is just the fourth Utah State player to earn first-team all-conference honors after Devyn Christensen (WAC - 2012, 2013), Ashlee Brown (WAC - 2011, 2012) and Danyelle Snelgro (WAC - 2009).


The senior had one of the best seasons in Mountain West history, setting the conference record in points scored (489) and scoring average 27.2 points per game. She is the only player in league history to score over 400 points in 18 league games. She has scored at least 30 points in 10 league games this season. She is also first in the conference in assists in MW games, averaging 5.7 assists per game.


Schlott was the only Aggie to earn all-Mountain West honors. The five-player, first-team consisted of players from five different schools. Schlott was joined Boise State's Deanna Weaver, Fresno State's Taylor Thompson, San Diego State's Cierra Warren and Wyoming's Kayla Woodward on the first team.


[USU] Junior guard Elise Nelson (Springfield, Ore.) was also named to the Mountain West all-Defensive team. Nelson became the fourth Aggie to earn a postseason all-defensive team honors, as three Aggies earned WAC all-Defensive team honors. Ashlee Brown (2012), Alice Coddington (2010, 2011) and Snelgro (2009) have all been previously honored. Nelson is first in the league in steals, averaging 2.1 spg. She leads the conference with 38 steals in league contests. She is also 13th in MW games in rebounding, averaging 6.2 rpg.


Colorado State's Ryun Williams was named Coach of the Year, while the Rams' Caitlin Duffy was named Sixth Player of the Year. Boise State's Weaver was the Newcomer of the Year. Fresno State's Thompson and Nevada's Mimi Mungedi were Co-Defensive Player of the Year, while the Broncos' Yaiza Rodriguez and the Rams' Ellen Nystrom were Co-Freshman of the Year.


2013-14 All-Mountain West Honors


First-Team All-Mountain West

Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State

&Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State

Cierra Warren, Sr., C, San Diego State

Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State

&^Kayla Woodward, Jr., F, Wyoming


Second-Team All-Mountain West

&^!Sam Martin, Sr., F, Colorado State

AJ Newton, Jr., G, Colorado State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Gritt Ryder, Jr., G, Colorado State

Bree Farley, Sr., G, Fresno State

&Danika Sharp, Sr., G, Nevada


Honorable Mention

Arielle Wideman, Sr., G, Nevada

Antiesha Brown, Jr., G, New Mexico

Ta'Rea Cunnigan, Jr., G, San José State

Alana Cesarz, Jr., F, UNLV

Fallon Lewis, Sr., G, Wyoming


All-Defensive Team

Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F, Boise State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State

Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada

Elise Nelson, Jr., G, Utah State


All-Freshman Team

Yaiza Rodriguez, Fr., G, Boise State

Elin Gustavsson, Fr., G, Colorado State

Ellen Nystrom, Fr., G, Colorado State

Ariell Bostick, Fr., G, San Diego State

Jasmine Smith, Fr., F, San José State


Player of the Year: Jennifer Schlott, Sr., G, Utah State


Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Taylor Thompson, Sr., G, Fresno State; Mimi Mungedi, Jr., C, Nevada


Co-Freshman of the Year: Yaiza Rodriguez, G, Boise State; Ellen Nystrom, G, Colorado State


Newcomer of the Year: Deanna Weaver, Jr., G/F Boise State


Sixth Player of the Year: Caitlin Duffy, So., G, Colorado State


Coach of the Year: Ryun Williams, Colorado State


& 2012-13 All-MW/Defensive team selection

^ 2011-12 All-MW/Defensive team selection

! 2010-11 All-MW/Defensive team selection


Additional Aggie sports news is available at the Athletics website.

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly

Send your comment or question:

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your response will NOT be published online. Thank you.

NOTE: Do Not Alter These Fields, they are used to limit spam: