Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

Natural Resources Week - Protect Water, Protect Life

USU's Quinney College of Natural Resources and the QCNR…


Summer Camps at Swaner EcoCenter

Registration for Swaner Preserve and EcoCenter’s…


Katie Marchant, MFA

An art exhibit featuring work by USU MFA student Katie…


Dan P. Beard Lecture - 'New Perspectives on Western Water Policy'

During USU Natural Resources Week, the Quinney College of…


USU Spring Runoff Conference

For 2015, USU's premier annual water research conference…

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

Quinney College of Natural Resources Honors Top Scholars

Thursday, Mar. 27, 2014

Konrad Hafen, Quinney College of Natural Resources Scholar of the Year
Konrad Hafen is the Quinney College of Natural Resources' Scholar of the Year and Outstanding Senior in the Department of Wildland Resources.
Thomas ‘Tommy’ Thompson, Legacy of Utah State Award nominee
Thomas 'Tommy' Thompson is the Quinney College of Natural Resources’ nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award.

Utah State University’s S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff at a March 22 awards banquet in the Stevenson Ballroom of the Taggart Student Center on the Logan campus.


“We’re proud of these outstanding scholars and applaud their achievements,” said Chris Luecke, QCNR dean.


Konrad Hafen is the college’s Scholar of the Year and was also recognized as Outstanding Senior for the Department of Wildland Resources. Ben Poulsen was named College of Natural Resources Outstanding Senior and Department of Environment and Society Outstanding Senior. Edwin “Dan” Bone was honored as Outstanding Senior for the Department of Watershed Sciences.


Jordan Lofthouse is the college’s valedictorian for 2014 and is the recipient of the National Council of Geographic Education and Association of American Geographers Excellence of Scholarship Award. David Baird was recognized as the college’s Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year.


Choe Bickmore Wardle was chosen by her classmates to receive the Jardine Juniper Award, an honor given to the student who has made the biggest impact on the college through student organization involvement.


Thomas “Tommy” Thompson is the college’s nominee for the university’s Legacy of Utah State Award. Cody Butler was named the college’s Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.


Cameron Lawrence Nielsen was honored as College of Natural Resources Student Senator for the 2013-14 academic year and served as master of ceremonies for the event.


Andrew Kleinhesselink was named Graduate Research Assistant of the Year and Ashley D’Antonio was honored as Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year.


Among the college’s faculty and staff, Karen Mock was honored as Researcher of the Year and Dan MacNulty was named Teacher of the Year. Mark Brunson is Graduate Mentor of the Year, Chris Call is Advisor of the Year and Rich Etchberger was honored as Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year. Shannon Belmont was honored as Instructor of the Year and Mykel Beorchia was named Employee of the Year.


Quinney Scholars are undergraduates Patrick Adams, Sierra Allen, Erin Butikofer, Mark Devey, Megan Gordon, Konrad Hafen, Stephanie Hall, J. Ivy Harvey, Shandrea Hickok, Bret Mossman, Denton Nielson, Kari Norman, Ben Poulsen, Jamie Reynolds, Olivia Schwanda, Heather Shipp, Jacob Stout, Molly Van Engelenhoven, Audree Van Valkenburg, Cheyne Warren and Darianne Willey. Quinney Fellows are graduate students Colton Finch, Daniel Kinka, Bryan Kluever, Michel Kohl, Eric LaMalfa, Gwendwr Meredith and Seth Price. The students are recipients of scholarship and fellowship programs established by the S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney Foundation.


Numerous other scholarships and fellowships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were awarded at the campus gathering. Recipients include Patrick Adams, Bradley Ashcroft, Samantha Beirne, Lette Benson, Camilla Bottelberghe, Jason Brown, MacKenzie Brown, Cody Butler, Clay Butters, Haydn Carson, Carlee Coleman, Shannalee Chugg, Andrew Coonen, Kelly Crowley, Taylor Dudunake, Adam Fisher, Sara Germain, Jordan Gilbert, Joshua Gilbert, Amanda Halloran, Justin Hanton, Danielle Hastings, Molly Hocanson, Jessica Hollingshead, Patrick Huffcutt,  Jonathan Hudson, Morgan Hughes, Josiah Maughan, AnnDee Mead, Lindsay Mortensen, Brianne Palmer, Dustin Ranglack, Dakota Reed, Joel Ruprecht, Levi Simmons, Sara Simmons, Konnan Smith, Trinity Smith, Megan Squire, Bethany Unger, Molly Van Engelenhoven, Arthur Wallis, Tamara Watkins, Marc Wilson, Elizabeth Winters, Logan Woodfall and Darrel Woodruff.


The Quinney College of Natural Resources includes the academic departments Environment and Society, Watershed Sciences and Wildland Resources.


Related link:

USU College of Natural Resources


Contact: Mykel Beorchia, 435-797-2473, mykel.beorchia@usu.edu

Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, 435-797-3517, maryann.muffoletto@usu.edu

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly

Send your comment or question:

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your response will NOT be published online. Thank you.

NOTE: Do Not Alter These Fields, they are used to limit spam: