Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

New Student Orientation: SOAR

New Student Orientation for new incoming students and…


ARTsySTEM: The Changing Climates of the Arts and Sciences

This exhibits showcases works of art that share a…


The Dorothy and Herbert Vogel Collection: Fifty Works for Fifty States

This exhibit showcases, for the first time, the…


And Then There Were None -- Lyric Repertory Company

One by one, guests arrive on an isolated island lured by…


Artisan Aggie Cheese Tasting & Video Presentation

Sample cheese and learn how it's made!

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

USU Professor Honored by Utah Academy

Thursday, Apr. 17, 2014

distinguished service award medal presented by the Utah Academy
Joyce Kinkead, professor of English at Utah State University, received the Utah Academy's Distinguished Service Award.

A Utah State University professor and a professor of economics at BYU were honored by the Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters at its annual meeting in St. George April 11. Joyce Kinkead, professor of English at USU, received the Distinguished Service Award, and Arden Pope of BYU received the Gardner Prize.


Kinkead received the Distinguished Service Award for lifetime services to the profession and to the state of Utah.


“When we worked on enhancing our undergraduate research program at Dixie State, I ordered several books to help us,” said Erin O’Brien, president of the Utah Academy, at the award presentation. “Many of them were authored or edited by Joyce Kinkead. They are valuable resources, full of pragmatic advice. She is a leader, not only in Utah but in the nation.”


Kinkead is professor of English at Utah State University, where she joined its faculty in 1982. She served as USU’s associate vice president for research 2000-11. Notably, she created the Utah Conference on Undergraduate Research (UCUR), which brings together all institutions, public and private, in an annual meeting where students showcase their research, scholarship and artistic projects. She also was the lead organizer for the Research on Capitol Hill event, which occurs each January and features student research from the state’s two research universities.


“I’ve nominated colleagues for these wonderful honors from the Utah Academy, but I never thought of being the honoree myself,” Kinkead said. “It’s terrific to be in the company of former awardees such as noted historian Juanita Brooks.”


Kinkead is the author or editor of a number of books, most recently, “Farm: A Multimodal Reader” (2014), but also several titles in undergraduate research as well as “A Schoolmarm All My Life: Personal Narratives from Early Utah.” In addition to 12 books, 10 book chapters, some 50 articles, reviews and encyclopedia entries and more than 100 professional presentations, she is at work on “Researching Writing: An Introduction to Research Methods in Writing Studies.” 


In 2013, the U.S. Professors of the Year Program honored her as the winner for the state of Utah. In 2012, she was named a Council on Undergraduate Research Fellow, a biennial award that recognizes her national reputation for promoting undergraduate research, the first humanist to be so honored. She is a member of the Conference on College Composition and Communication and its Undergraduate Research Task Force. Kinkead has received outstanding scholarship awards for her work in “Computer and Composition Studies” (1996) and writing centers (1989). She authored the first article to focus on the pedagogical implications of email in composition studies (1987).


Founded in 1908, the Utah Academy of Sciences was organized to promote investigations and diffuse knowledge in all areas of science. In 1933, the academy was enlarged to include the arts and letters and the name was changed to the Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters. In the mid-1980s, the scope of the academy was expanded still further to include business, education, engineering, library information and instruction and health, physical education and recreation. In 1940, the Academy began to recognize publicly and honorifically outstanding leadership and achievement. Norm Jones, professor of History at USU won the Charles Redd Prize for Outstanding Research from the Academy in 1990.


Utah State University faculty members who currently serve on the executive board of the Utah Academy include Doran Baker, Dwight Israelsen and David F. Richter.


Contact: Joyce Kinkead, (435) 797-1706, joyce.kinkead@usu.edu

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly

Send your comment or question:

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your response will NOT be published online. Thank you.

NOTE: Do Not Alter These Fields, they are used to limit spam: