Western Historical Quarterly Utah State University
0740 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT  84322-0740

phone 435.797.1301
fax 435.797.3899


 David Rich Lewis

Colleen O'Neill

Diane Bush
Managing Editor

Lauren Shanley
Office Manager

Bradley Kime
Ellsworth Fellow

Jacob G. Bury
Peterson Fellow

Donate to WHQ

ISSN: 0043-3810
E-ISSN: 1939-8603



WHA Mission Statement

The Western History Association strives to be a congenial home for the study and teaching of all aspects of North American Wests, frontiers, homelands, and borderlands. Our mission is to cultivate the broadest appreciation of this diverse history.


In Memoriam

Anne M. Butler

4 Dec 1938 -- 10 Nov 2014

The staff of the Western Historical Quarterly is saddened to learn of the death of our friend and colleague, former editor of the WHQ and USU Distinguished Trustee Professor Emerita, Anne M. Butler. We will publish a memorial celebrating her life and legacy in an upcoming issue of the WHQ. Anne's own obituary can be found


Do you know what goes on behind the scenes in an academic journal? Do you realize the intellectual and physical labor invested to bring your work to print and distribute it? Do you think Open Access is the answer? Read these two thoughtful essays by the Omohundro Institute's Director Dr. Karin Wulf.

What Does it Take? From Submission to Publication at the WMQ.

Open Access and Historical Scholarship



WHQ Prizewinning Articles

The Western Writers of America has recognized two WHQ articles as Finalists for the 2015 WWA Spur Award for Best Western Short Nonfiction:

“The American West in the Age of Vulnerability,” by Donald Worster (WHQ Spring 2014)

“Finding the American West in Twenty-First Century Italy,” by Renee M. Laegreid (WHQ Winter 2014)

Winner of the 2015 Spur Award for Best Western Short Nonfiction is the Western History Association’s past president Richard W. Etulain for an essay in Montana The Magazine of Western History.

Since 1953 the WWA Spur Awards have honored the best in Western fiction, nonfiction, song lyrics, poetry, and film scripting. For a complete list of award winners see
http://westernwriters.org/winners/. The Spur Awards Luncheon will be held on 26 June 2015 at the WWA Conference in Lubbock, TX.

More information on the Western Historical Quarterly’s track record of publishing award-winning scholarship can be found at

WHQ Affiliates

 Become a member of the Western History Association


Visit us on Facebook