Youth Conservatory

Faculty Directory

Youth Conservatory students may study with faculty or students in the USU piano program. Student teachers are tiered based on experience, and tuition costs are relative to the tier.   


Robyn Abrahamson

Dallin Bassett

Arthur Floyd

Brady Fry

Jennifer Hansen

Michael Lechner

Eliza Nelson

Taylor Packer

BreAna Shaw

Jacqueline Winterton



Ashley Benjamin

Brittany Bowers

Brittney Mattison

Kyle McKenna

Lisa Richards

Sierra Summers

Shanelle Winkel


Mark Gubler

Lindsey Lee-Pope

Sara Mason

Ashley Weiss









Lauren Belliston, B.M., Utah State University

Brody Craney, B.M., Utah State University

Krystal Kunz, B.M., Utah State University

Lizzy Prettyman, B.M., Utah State University


Gary Amano, M.M., B.S., The Juilliard School – Founder, USU Piano Program Head

Emily Ezola, M.M., B.M., Utah State University – YC Program Coordinator

Luke Hancock, M.M., B.M., Utah State University – USU Piano Faculty

Brooke Hirst, M.M., B.M., Utah State University – Account Manager

Dennis Hirst, M.M., U. of Oklahoma, B.M., Bowling Green State University – Director; USU Piano Faculty

Kevin Olson, Ed. D. National-Louis Univ., M.M., B.M. Brigham Young University – USU Piano Faculty

Ewa Wilczynski, M.M. Marie Curie University, Poland – YC Theory Instructor


Search Options
Browse:    ALL  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Gary Amano

Gary Amano

Location:  FAC 201
Faculty Status:  Faculty; Founder; USU Piano Program Head

Professor Gary Amano, Director of Piano Studies at Utah State University, continues the tradition of outstanding piano performance and pedagogy begun by his mentor, Irving Wassermann. Professor Amano obtained Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from the Juilliard School in New York. He founded the USU Youth Conservatory which has been recognized by NASM as a national model for youth programs. His students have won first place and/or grand prizes in numerous competitions, including the Kingsville International, the Stravinsky International, the MTNA Wurlitzer, Yamaha, and Baldwin National Competitions, the Young Keyboard Artists Association International (YKAA), the Kosciusko National Chopin Competition, the Junior Gina Bachauer, and the National Stillman-Kelly Competitions.