Program Faculty

CAS Program Faculty & the CAS Leadership Team

Leadership Team

Michelle Baker
michelle baker
Biology & Ecology Center
Aquatic Ecosystem Ecology & Biogeochemistry

Patrick Belmont
patrick belmont
Watershed Sciences
Hydrology and Geomorphology
patrick.belmont@usu.edu

Mark Brunson
mark brunson
Environment & Society
Social-ecological Systems
mark.brunson@usu.edu

David Feldon
david feldon
Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences
Development of Expertise, Cognition, & Assessment
david.feldon@usu.edu

Courtney Flint
courtney flint
Sociology, Social Work & Anthropology, & Ecology Center
Natural Resource & Community Sociology
courtney.flint@usu.edu

Luis F. Gordillo
luis gordillo
Mathematics & Statistics
Applied Mathematics
luis.gordillo@usu.edu

Peter Howe
peter howe
Environment & Society
Human-Environment Geography
peter.howe@usu.edu

Nancy Huntly
nancy huntly
Biology, & Ecology Center
Biodiversity, Human Ecology, Herbivory, Food Webs & Networks
nancy.huntly@usu.edu

Sarah Klain
sarah klain
Environment & Society
Cultural Ecosystem Services, Renewable Energy Landscapes
sarah.klain@usu.edu

James Lutz
james lutz
Wildland Resources
Forest Ecology & Fire Ecology
james.lutz@usu.edu

Kezia Manlove
kezia manlove

Wildland Resources & Ecology Center

kezia.manlove@usu.edu

Thad Nicholls
thad nicholls
Ecology Center Program Coordinator
Background in Geosciences and Coral Reef Ecology
thad.nicholls@usu.edu

Sarah Null
sarah null
Watershed Sciences
Watershed Sciences
sarah.null@usu.edu

Donald Penman
donald penman
Geosciences
Paleoceanography, Sedimenology , Geochemistry
donald.penman@usu.edu

Sasha Reed
sasha reed
Southwest Biological Science Center
Biochemistry & Ecosystem Ecology
screed@usgs.gov

Jessica Schad
jessica schad
Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology 
Rural and Agricultural Populations Survey Methodology, Community Theory and Analysis, Rural Sociology, & Population Studies
jessica.schad@usu.edu

Geno Schupp
geno schupp
Wildland Resources & Ecology Center
Plant Population Ecology, Restoration Ecology, Rare & Invasive Plants
eugene.schupp@usu.edu

Britta Schumacher
britta schumacher
CAS Senior Program Assistant
Background in Data Science and US Agriculture
britta.schumacher@usu.edu

Anastasia Thayer
anastasia thayer
Applied Economics
Climate Change Economics, Resource Economics, Agricultural Economics
anastasia.thayer@usu.edu

Shih-Yu (Simon) Wang
simon wang
Plants, Soils, & Climate
Climate Change, Extreme Weather, Climate Events, Hydrological Cycles
simon.wang@usu.edu

Program Faculty

Peter Adler
peter adler
Wildland Resources, & Ecology Center
Plant Population & Community Ecology
peter.adler@usu.edu

Trisha Atwood
trisha atwood
Watershed Sciences & Ecology Center
Community & Ecosystem Ecology
trisha.atwood@usu.edu

Karen Beard
karen beard
Wildland Resources
Conservation Ecology & Invasion Ecology
karen.beard@usu.edu

Noelle Beckman
moelle beckman
Biology & Ecology Center
Theoretical and Spatial Plant Ecology, Plant/animal/microbe Interactions, & Seed Dispersal
noelle.beckman@usu.edu

Janice Brahney
janice brahney
Watershed Sciences
Biogeochemistry & Paleolimnology
janice.brahney@usu.edu

Roslynn Brain McCann
rosylynn brain mccann
Environment & Society
Fostering Environmental Behavior
roslynn.brain@usu.edu

Phaedra Budy
phaedra budy
Watershed Sciences
Watershed Science
phaedra.budy@usu.edu

Rob Davies
rob davies
Physics, & Ecology Center
Communicating Planetary Boundaries, the Anthropocene, and Complex & Sustainable Systems
robert.davies@usu.edu

Tom Edwards
tom edwards
Wildland Resources
Wildland Resources
t.edwards@usu.edu

Susannah French
susanah
Biology & Ecology Center
Physiological Ecologist
susannah.french@usu.edu

Jennifer Givens
jennifer givens
Sociology, Social Work, and Anthropology
Environmental, Global, & Comparative Sociology, Political Economy & Development
jennifer.givens@usu.edu

Zach Gompert
zach gompert
Biology
Evolutionary Genetics & Genomics
zachariah.gompert@usu.edu

Edd Hammill
edd hammill
Watershed Sciences & Ecology Center
Conservation Planning & Land Management
edd.hammill@usu.edu

Charles (Chuck) Hawkins
chuck hawkins
Watershed Sciences & Ecology Center
Aquatic Ecology, Freshwater Biodiversity, & Environmental Assessment
chuck.hawkins@usu.edu

Larry Hipps
larry hipps
Plants, Soils, & Climate
Meteorology/Climatology, & Land-Atmosphere Interactions
Lawrence.Hipps@usu.edu

Daniella Hirschfeld
daniella hirschfeld
Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning 
Community resilience, Landscape Strategies for Climate Adaptation, & Disaster Mitigation and Planning 
daniella.hirschfeld@usu.edu

Jeffery S. Horsburgh
jeffrey horsburgh
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Hydroinformatics, Surface Water Quality, & Hydrology
jeff.horsburgh@usu.edu

Paul Jakus
paul jakus
Applied Economics
Environmental and Regional Economics, & Public Lands Analysis
paul.jakus@usu.edu

Scott Jones
scott jones
Plants, Soils, & Climate
Environmental Soil Physics & Instrumentation
scott.jones@usu.edu
 

Karin Kettenring
karin kettenring
Watershed Sciences, & Ecology Center
Wetland Plant Ecology, Restoration, & Management
karin.kettenring@usu.edu

Man-Keun Kim
man-keun kim
Applied Economics
Regional Economics, & Resource and Environmental Economics
mk.kim@usu.edu

Andrew Kulmatiski
andrew kulmatiski
Wildland Resources, & Ecology Center
Plant-soil Interactions
andrew.kulmatiski@usu.edu

Belize Lane
belize lane
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Surface Hydrology, Geomorphology, & Water Resources Management
belize.lane@usu.edu

Man Li
man li
Applied Economics
Land-use Based Sustainable Development, Water Resource Management, Rural Migration, and Climate Change, Mitigation, and Adaptation
man.li@usu.edu

 

Daniel MacNulty
daniel macnulty
Wildland Resources
Animal Behavior, Population Biology, Predator-prey Interactions, Large Mammal Conservation & Management
dan.macnulty@usu.edu

Laurie McNeill
laurie mcneill
Civil & Environmental Engineering & Water Research Lab
Drinking Water Treatment
laurie.mcneill@usu.edu

Christopher Monz
christopher monz
Environment & Society
Recreation Ecology, Park & Protected Area Management
chris.monz@usu.edu

Beth Neilson
beth neilson
Civil & Environmental Engineering & Utah Water Research Laboratory
Surface Water Quality & Hydrology
bethany.neilson@usu.edu

 

Richard Peralta
richard peralta
Civil & Environmental Engineering & Utah Water Research Laboratory
Groundwater Management & Systems Analysis
peralta.rc@gmail.com

James Powell
james powell
Statistics, & Biology
Modeling, Mathematical Ecology, Model Competition, Dispersal & Spatial Structure in Populations
jim.powell@usu.edu

Claudia Radel
claudia radel
Environment & Society
Human-environment Geography, Political Ecology, Migration, & Gender
claudia.radel@usu.edu

Ricardo Ramirez
ricardo ramirez
Biology
Agro-Ecology, Integrated Pest Management
ricardo.ramirez@usu.edu

David Rosenburg
david rosenberg
Civil & Environmental Engineering & Utah Water Research Laboratory
Water Resources Management, Systems Analysis, Water Conservation & Planning
david.rosenberg@usu.edu

Jordan Smith
jordan smith
Environment & Society
Outdoor Recreation & Natural Resource Economics
jordan.smith@usu.edu

John Stark
john stark
Biology, & Ecology Center
Terrestrial Ecosystem Ecology, & Soil Biogeochemistry
john.stark@usu.edu

David Stevens
david stevens
Civil & Environmental Engineering & Utah Water Research Laboratory
Surface Assessment, Mathematical Modeling, & Statistics
david.stevens@usu.edu

David Tarboton
david tarboton
Civil & Environmental Engineering, & Utah Water Research Laboratory
Surface Water, Information Systems, Modeling, Terrain Analysis, & Snow Hydrology
dtarb@usu.edu

Kari Veblen
kari veblen
Wildland Resources, & Ecology Center
Rangeland Ecology & Plant Community Ecology
kari.veblen@usu.edu

Joe Wheaton
joe wheaton
Watershed Sciences, & Ecology Center
Fluvial Geomorphology, Biogeomorphology, Watershed Management, & Beaver Ecology
joe.wheaton@usu.edu

Peter Wilcock
peter wilcock
Watershed Sciences
Erosion and Sedimentation, Watershed Restoration and Management
wilcock@usu.edu

Larissa Yocom
larissa yocom
Wildland Resources
Fire & Forest Ecology, & Management
larissa.yocom@usu.edu

Matt Yost
matt yost
Plants, Soils and Climate
Agroclimate, Water Optimization, Precision Agriculture, & Soil Health
matt.yost@usu.edu

Wei Zhang
wei zhang
Plant, Soils, & Climate, & Ecology Center
Drought/Flood, Precipitation, Hurricanes, Climate Modeling, Climate Dynamics and Climate Change
w.zhang@usu.edu