DEI Awards

The USU Diversity Awards recognize individuals or organizations on campus and in communities served by USU who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion. Awards are given in the following categories: Student, Faculty, Administrator, Staff, Individual Community Member, and Community Organization.


Award Criteria
  • Models behavior that promotes diversity
  • Nourishes acceptance of individual differences
  • Strives to enhance academic, employment or community relations among people who are different
  • Integrates diversity concepts and values into academic curriculum, management functions or community service
  • Develops methods for increasing and valuing diversity among students, faculty, staff or local businesses/associations
  • Maximizes opportunities to achieve diversity

*Awards are only given to those who have not received an award in the past five years.

Nomination Guidelines
Nominations are due December 8, 2021.

To nominate a student, faculty member, administrator, individual community member, or community organization, please complete the USU Diversity Awards nomination form.

Self-nominations are allowed. Please include references or supporting materials like publication or media recognition along with the nomination form.

Send your nomination packet by email to Amanda Castillo at or by mail to 1475 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322-1475.

For more information, contact the Office of Equity at 435-797-1266.


Award Recipients

The recipients of USU's 27th Annual Diversity Awards are celebrated for their efforts in diversity, equity and inclusion. Click on each recipient below to learn more about them. Read more about the Diversity Awards in Utah State Today, or view past recipients.


2020-21 Diversity Award - Faculty - Christy Glass

Christy Glass, professor in the Department of Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology, is known by her colleagues as a scholar activist who works tirelessly to promote diversity and inclusion in our institution and our community.

Past Recipients




Academic Year 2016-17
Administrator: Alan Savitzky
Faculty: Jason Gilmore
Staff: Randy Williams
Student: Kathryn M. Weglarz & Emily Sadler
Community Member: Oscar Marquina

Academic Year 2015-16
Administrator: Leon Anderson
Faculty: Justin G. Bergeman
Staff: Kami R. McNeil
Student: Ana Caballero
Community Member: Luz Maria Carreno

Academic Year 2014-15
Administrator: Jeannie B. Thomas
Faculty: Bonnie Glass-Coffin
Staff: Ben Wilkey
Student: Ayman H. Alafifi
Community Member: Sally F. Sears

Academic Year 2013-14
Administrator: Garth A. Wilson
Faculty: Robert S. McPherson
Staff: Juan Carlos Vazquez
Student: Indhira Maria Hasbun
Community Organization: USU Museum of Anthropology