2020-2021 Annual Report Faculty Evaluation Committee (FEC)

Prepared by Timothy Chenette, Chair 2021-2022 Approved by FEC vote, Oct. 22, 2021

INTRODUCTION

The charge and membership of the FEC is established in the Policy manual 402.12.7 (revised 6Jan2012) as follows:

402.12.7 Faculty Evaluation Committee (FEC) (1) Duties. The Faculty Evaluation Committee shall (a) assess methods for evaluating faculty performance; (b) recommend improvements in methods of evaluation; and (c) decide university awards for the Eldon J. Gardner Teacher of the year and Undergraduate Faculty Advisor of the Year.

(2) Membership.

The committee shall consist of one faculty representative from each academic college, Regional Campus and Distance Education, USU Eastern, Extension, and the Library, two student officers from the USUSA and one elected graduate student representative. The faculty representatives are elected to the committee in accordance with policy 402.11.2. The committee will elect a chair annually, preferably at the last meeting of the academic year.

Current Committee Members 2020-2021

- Agriculture and Applied Sciences Kelli Munns
- Arts Timothy Chenette (Chair)
- Business Todd Griffith
- Education and Human Services Crissa Levin
- Engineering Timothy Taylor
- Humanities and Social Sciences Michael Lyons
- Natural Resources **Doug Ramsey**
- Science Vicki Allan
- Libraries Liz Woolcott
- Extension Narine Lendel
- Statewide Campuses Kim Hales
- *USU Eastern* **Steve Nelson**
- Student Representatives Porter Casdorph (USUSA Executive Vice President)
- Student Representatives Ethan Conlee (USUSA Student Advocate)
- Student Representatives Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana (USUSA Graduate Studies Senator)

Meeting Dates 2020-2021

January 12, 2021 (to choose a chair) February 26, 2021 March 22, 2021

SUMMARY OF FEC ACTIVITIES 2020–2021

The FEC was not active for the first half of the school year due to pandemic-related disruptions. On Jan. 12, 2021, the committee was revived and Britt Fagerheim (libraries) agreed to serve as chair for the rest of the year.

In February, the FEC reviewed nomination materials and selected recipients for the Eldon J. Gardner Teacher of the Year (Heloisa Rutigliano), the Undergraduate Faculty Mentor of the Year (Brian Champagne), and the Faculty University Service (Joyce Kinkead) awards.

In March, the committee met to discuss topics to explore in 2021–2022. These topics include methods of faculty teaching evaluation outside of IDEA scores, and whether work that supports the university's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion goals might be formally included in faculty evaluation standards. Timothy Chenette (arts) agreed to serve as chair for 2021–2022.