Regional Rural Development Centers

Montage of smiling people

Advancing the Economic Health of Rural America

The Regional Rural Development Centers are a trusted source of economic and community development data, decision tools, education, and guidance for our nation's rural communities.

Collectively, the Centers form a one-stop-shop connection to the nationwide network of Land-Grant Universities and the Cooperative Extension Service. Each Center serves a U.S. region and taps its Land-Grant University network to form innovative research and Extension partnerships in the area of rural development. 

Together, the Regional Rural Development Centers help rural communities make science-based decisions about their community and economic development investments.

RRDC map logo with states in northeast region highlighted

Northeast Regional Center for Rural Development

  • Hosted by Pennsylvania State University
  • Director: Stephan Goetz
  • Serving Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia

RRDC map logo with states in north central region highlighted

North Central Regional Center for Rural Development

  • Hosted by Purdue University
  • Director: Maria Marshall
  • Serving Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

RRDC map logo with states in southern region highlighted

Southern Rural Development Center

  • Hosted by Mississippi State University
  • Director: John J. Green
  • Serving Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Puerto Rico, and USVI

RRDC map logo with states in western region highlighted

Western Rural Development Center

  • Hosted by Utah State University
  • Interim Director: Betsy Newman
  • Serving Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, American Samoa, Guam, Micronesia, and Northern Marianas