Western Regional Center for Rural Development

RRDC map logo with states in western region highlighted

The Western Rural Development Center (WRDC) is hosted by Utah State University and works to build capacity throughout the region’s Land-Grant Universities and Cooperative Extension Service to help rural communities prosper, thrive economically, and become self-sustaining.

The Western Rural Development Center collaborates with its partners to analyze, develop, and share scientific discovery and application of sustainable rural community development practices. In order to more effectively address these issues and the emerging concerns facing the residents of the rural West, the Western Rural Development Center focuses its efforts on three broad priority areas:

  • Community Development
  • Climate Change Education
  • Land Use and Management Planning

Visit the Western Center's Site

States Served by the WRDC

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico

  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming
  • American Samoa
  • Guam
  • Micronesia
  • Northern Marianas

Contact the Western Center
Western Rural Development Center
Utah State University
4880 Old Main Hill 
Logan UT 84322-4880

Phone: (435) 797-9731
Email: wrdc@usu.edu
Site: wrdc.usu.edu/