Skip to main content

Undergraduate Research

Undergrad Student Participating in a Research Lab

How do I get started in undergraduate research? In USU's College of Science, we consider undergraduate research an integral component of our students' educational journey. We encourage students to get involved in research endeavors that will enrich their learning experiences. Hands-on, personalized learning and student involvement in research are integral components of our college's endeavors. We foster discovery through pioneering research and through the ongoing quest for more effective methods of teaching science. Our faculty members are dedicated teachers as well as researchers, who consider training students to be the primary focus of their work.

Contact the research coordinator (below) for the department in which your major is administered.
The coordinator will assess your interests and help you find a research opportunity with a faculty mentor.

Biology

Dr. Dennis Welker

Dennis Welker

Email: dennis.welker@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-3552
Office: BNR 101

Biology Faculty Research Interests

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Joanie Hevel

Joanie Hevel

Email: joanie.hevel@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-1622
Office: WIDT 235

Chemistry Faculty Research Interests

Computer Science

Curtis Dyreson

Curtis Dyreson

Email: curtis.dyreson@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-0742
Office: Old Main 402A

Computer Science Faculty Research Interests

Geosciences

Carol Dehler

Carol Dehler

Email: carol.dehler@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-0764
Office: GEO 201

Geosciences Faculty Research Interests

Mathematics and Statistics

David Brown

David Brown

Email: david.e.brown@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-3224
Office: ANSC 109

Math/Stat Faculty Research Interests

Physics

Charles Torre

Charles Torre

Email: charles.torre@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-3426
Office: SER 232

Physics Faculty Research Interests