Sexual Violence Task Force

In late 2016, USU formed a Sexual Violence Task Force and a series of committees and working groups to improve the university’s efforts to prevent and respond to sexual misconduct in our campus communities. Each working group is comprised of both subject-matter experts with expertise specific to assigned working groups as well as a diverse mix of individual representatives from across our campus constituent groups.

The Sexual Violence Task Force is chaired by USU President Noelle Cockett and is responsible for an overarching strategic plan to address and prevent sexual misconduct in our campus communities. It receives recommendations from and provides guidance to the working groups below.

Campus Climate and Survey Working Group

This group develops an ongoing campus climate survey and other efforts to assess campus attitudes and knowledge of issues related to sexual misconduct. USU implemented its first campus climate student survey on sexual misconduct in April 2017. Surveys are implemented every two years. Chaired by Michael Torrens, Director of the USU Office of Analysis, Assessment and Accreditation.

Implementation and Coordinating Committee (ICC)

This committee is responsible for the day-to-day implementation of Title IX policies, prevention education and training, and compliance efforts. It includes staff from across campus units who directly serve students, including the Office of Equity, Student Conduct, victim resource services, USU Police, Residence Life, and Student Involvement. Chaired by Mica McKinney, USU Vice President for Legal Affairs.

Policy and Process Working Group

This group is responsible for revising sexual misconduct policies and processes to reflect current national best practices in accordance with state and national laws. Chaired by Mica McKinney, USU Vice President for Legal Affairs.

Prevention, Education and Training Working Group (PETWG)

This group develops, evaluates and recommends a comprehensive sexual misconduct prevention strategy, including bystander intervention training, student and employee education, messaging campaigns and other relevant training and outreach efforts. It meets alternating months as student and faculty/staff subcommittees and as the full working group. Co-chaired by Emmalee Fishburn, Senior Prevention Specialist in the Office of Equity, and Felicia Gallegos, Prevention and Outreach Coordinator in the Sexual Assault and Anti-Violence Information (SAAVI) office.

The PETWG previously made recommendations for a prevention strategy in April 2017. USU has implemented all the recommendations made in the working group's report linked below. 

Learn more about USU's current prevention strategies.

Sexual Respect Advisory Committee

USU created this committee in fall of 2018 to improve both prevention and response efforts and how the university works with community agencies. The advisory committee includes subject-matter experts from agencies throughout Utah and in the Cache Valley community, key leaders affiliated with USU, and USU alums who are advocates or survivors of sexual violence. Chaired by Hilary Renshaw, Title IX Coordinator.