Established by the Rural Development Act of 1972

The Western Rural Development Center is one four regional centers established by the Rural Development Act of 1972. The Center is administered by a joint agreement between the United States Department of Agriculture and our host institution, Utah State University, operating for the Extension Services and the Agricultural Experiment Stations in the western region including the Pacific Territories. The Center receives its core funding from the National Institute of Food and Agriculture for integrated research, education, and Extension activities.

Host Institutions

The Western Rural Development Center was hosted by Oregon State University from its inception until 1999 when Utah State University welcomed the Center to its campus in Logan, Utah. 

This website and its content is based in part upon work that is supported by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, U.S. Department of Agriculture, under award number 2022-51150-38140.