Board of Directors

Loosely defined, a Board of Directors is “a body of elected or appointed members who jointly oversee the activities of a company or organization.” We at the Western Rural Development Center define our Board of Directors as “compassionate experts who give generously of their time to effect positive change for the Rural West.” If it were not for this dedicated group of individuals, the Center would not be nearly as effective or successful in its efforts. We thank them for their continued inspiration and support.

2020 Board of Directors

Cooperative Extension Representatives

Ken White, Chair, Utah State University
Sereana Howard Dresbach, University of Guam
Jon Boren, New Mexico State University Extension
Mike Gaffney, Washington State University Extension

Agricultural Experiment Stations Representatives

Glenda Humiston, University of California 
Chris Pritsos, University of Nevada Reno
Milan Shipka, University of Alaska Fairbanks

1994 Land Grant Institution Representative

Benita Litson, Diné College, Arizona

Indigenous, Native, Tribal Representative

Frank Metlow, Spokane Tribe of Indians, Washington

Faculty Representatives

Cindy Reeves, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Paul Lachapelle, Montana State University
Debra Hansen, Washington State University

Partnering Organizations' Representatives

Edgar Ruiz, Council of State Governments-WEST
Jonathan Shuffield, National Association of Counties
Jake Tibbitts, CARET/APLU

Ex-Officio USDA Representatives

Brent Elrod, USDA-National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Jill Rees, USDA Rural Development - Oregon
John Cromartie, USDA Economic Research Service