Utah Wellbeing Project

We partner with Utah cities to gather perspectives on wellbeing from residents to inform city planning processes, decisions, and futures.

2022 City Reports are now available! Click here to view them.


Utah communities are changing rapidly. Keeping a finger on the pulse of residents' wellbeing and attitudes about community issues helps to promote sound planning and decision-making to support the overall quality of life in Utah's cities and towns. 

The Utah Wellbeing Survey tracks local perspectives on wellbeing around the state from very rural places to larger and rapidly growing cities. Partnerships with Utah cities make it possible to conduct annual online surveys. Over 14,000 surveys from Utahns were collected 2019-2021 and over 10,000 surveys were collected in 2022 across 35 cities. The next survey effort will be in early 2024. If you are interested in having your city participate, please contact us. 

Within this website you will find detailed reports from past surveys and resources for local leaders to consider as they seek to improve their residents' wellbeing.  

utah wellbeing project logo

Participating cities include Beaver, Blanding, Bluff, Bountiful, Cedar City, Cottonwood Heights, Delta, Draper, Eagle Mountain, East Carbon, Ephraim, Helper, Herriman, Highland, Hurricane, Hyde Park, Hyrum, La Verkin, Layton, Lehi, Logan, Midvale, Millcreek, Moab, Monticello, Nephi, Nibley, North Logan, Ogden, Park City, Price, Richfield, Salt Lake City, Sandy, Santaquin, Saratoga Springs, South Jordan, South Ogden, Spanish Fork, St. George, Tooele, Tremonton, Vernal, Vineyard, Wellington, and West Jordan.


Utah League of Cities and Towns Logo

Extension Utah State University Logo


Dr. Courtney Flint

Professor of Environment & Society

Current Research Team Members: Dr. Hyojun Park, Sarah Wilson, Madison Fjeldsted Thompson, Casey Trout, Brooke Richards, Bailey Holdaway, Cheyenne Chee