First Scholars Faculty & Staff

Who & Why?

First Scholars Faculty and Staff are voluntary, self-identified first-generation college graduates and professionals who serve as USU faculty, advisors, staff, and administrators who want to support first-generation college student success.

Many current and potential first-generation college students can better relate, converse, and receive feedback from a person in a position of leadership who has experienced similar feelings, challenges, and triumphs to get to where they are.

First Scholars Faculty and Staff can support and help combat the impostor syndrome felt by many first-generation college students, especially Black, Indigenous, and/or students of color, by creating a visible sense of belonging.


What They Do

  • Self-identify as a first-generation college graduate and accept the invitation to support first-gen college students at USU
  • Attend an annual USU first-generation college student consortium and summit
  • Connect, mentor, and refer first-gen college students to resources both proactively and when approached throughout the year


First Scholars Faculty & Staff by College/Division

Noelle E. Cockett

 Noelle Cockett Named Utah State University President

President of Utah State University

 

 

Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services

Breanne
Litts

breanne.litts@usu.edu

breanne litts

Assistant Professor | Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences

Nate
Trauntvein

nate.trauntvein@usu.edu

nate trauntvein

Assistant Professor | Kinesiology & Health Sciences

Mireya
Ori

mireya.molinar@usu.edu

molinar mireya

Program Coordinator II | Department of Nursing (USU Eastern)

Olena Kopystynska

olena.kopystynska@usu.edu

olena kopystynska

Post-Doctoral Fellow | Human Development & Family Studies

Megan
Raddatz

megan.raddatz@usu.edu 

megan raddatz photo

Graduate Student | Neuroscience

Donna
Blaylock

donna.blaylock@usu.edu 

Online Adjunct Instructor

Ryan
Seedall

ryan.seedall@usu.edu 

ryan seedall photo

Associate Professor | Marriage & Family Therapy

Marilyn
Cuch

Marilyn.cuch@usu.edu 

marilyn cuch

Lecturer, Advisor, Director of the RCDE Secondary Education Program | Teacher Education & Leadership

Mario I.
Suárez

mario.suarez@usu.edu

mario suarez

Assistant Professor | Teacher Education & Leadership

Karen Hager Martinez

karen.hager@usu.edu

karen martinez

Assistant Professor | Special Education & Rehabilitation

Katherine
Vela

katherine.vela@usu.edu 

katherine vela

Assistant Professor | Teacher Education & Leadership (USU Eastern)

Scott
Bates

scott.bates@usu.edu 

scott bates

Department Head | Psychology

Sara
Boghosian

sara.boghosian@usu.edu

sara boghosian

Clinical Assistant Professor | Psychology

Michael
Gerald

michael.gerald@usu.edu

michael gerald

 

Kathleen (Kit) Mohr

Kathleen.mohr@usu.edu

Kathleen (Kit) Mohr | USU

Professor | Teacher Education & Leadership

Trenton
Landon

trent.landon@usu.edu 

trenton landon

Assistant Professor | Special Education & Rehabilitation 

Camille
Odell

camille.odell@usu.edu 

camille odell

Clinical Instructor | Psychology

Kathleen (Kat) Marie Oertle

kathleen.oertle@usu.edu

kathleen oertle

Associate Professor | Special Education & Rehabilitation

Ty
Aller

ty.aller@usu.edu 

ty aller

Coordinator of Programs SR | Center for Persons with Disabilities 

Kaylee
Litson

kaylee.litson@usu.edu 

kaylee litson

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow | Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences

Cache
Pitt

cache.pitt@usu.edu 

Cache Pitt

Audiologist, Faculty | Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education

Brenda
Smith

brenda.smith@usu.edu 

brenda smith

Project Coordinator III | Center for Persons with Disabilities

Linda
Donaldson

linda.donaldson@usu.edu 

Tressa M. Haderlie

Tressa.Haderlie@usu.edu 

tressa haderlie

Advisor | Psychology

Dakota
Pond

dakota.pond@usu.edu 

Service Navigator | Sorenson Legacy Foundation Center for Clinical Excellence

Faith
Thomas

faith.thomas@usu.edu 

faith thomas

Project Coordinator SR | Center for Persons with Disabilities

Hillary
Fruge

hillary.fruge@usu.edu 

hillary fruge

Coordinator III | Psychology

Jennifer
Caines

jennifer.caines@usu.edu 

jennifer caines

Advisor | Teacher Education & Leadership

Aryn
Dotterer

aryn.dotterer@usu.edu

Associate Professor | Family, Consumer, and Human Development

Briana
Kaufman

briana.kaufman@usu.edu 

MESAS Coordinator of Programs | Psychology

David
Forbush

david.forbush@usu.edu  

Educational Specialist | Center for Persons with Disabilities

Jeannine Huenemann

jeannine.huenemann@usu.edu 

Marketing Manager | Teacher Education & Leadership

Caine College of the Arts

Rachel
Nardo

Rachel.nardo@usu.edu 

rachel nardo

Dean | Caine College of the Arts

Danielle
Green

danielle.green@usu.edu 

Anthony
Lott

anthony.lott@usu.edu 

anthony lott

Associate Professor | Art (USU Blanding)

Raymond
Veon

Raymond.veon@usu.edu

raymond veon

Assistant Dean | Arts Education

College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences

Bart
Tarbet

bart.tarbet@usu.edu

bart tarbet

Research Associate Professor | Animal, Dairy, & Veterinary Sciences

Prateek
Sharma

prateek.sharma@usu.edu

Assistant Professor | Nutrition, Dietetics, & Food Sciences

David
Irish

david.irish@usu.edu

david irish

Manager | Aggie Ice Cream & Creamery

Mateja Savoie Roskos

mateja.savoie@usu.edu

Mateja Savoie Roskos

Assistant Professor, Co-Director | Nutrition, Dietetics, & Food Sciences

Kara Thornton-Kurth

kara.thornton@usu.edu

kara thornton-kuth

Assistant Professor | Animal, Dairy, & Veterinary Sciences

Denise Stewardson

denise.stewardson@usu.edu

denise stewardson

Associate Professor, Director | Agriculture Systems Technology & Education

Andreas 'Baron' Wesemann

andreas.wesemann@usu.edu

andreas wesemann

Director | Aviation & Technical Education

Mirella Meyer-Ficca

Mirella.Meyer@usu.edu

mirella meyer-ficca

Research Assistant Professor | Animal, Dairy, & Veterinary Sciences

LaCee
Jimenez

lacee.jimenez@usu.edu

lacee jiminez

Program Coordinator | Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences

Danyel Mezzanatto

danyel.mezzanatto@usu.edu

danyel mezzanatto

Graduate Student | Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning

Tami
Spackman

tami.spackman@usu.edu

tami spackman

Advisor | Animal, Dairy, & Veterinary Sciences

Valerie
Novack

valerie.novack@usu.edu

valerie novack

Graduate Student | Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning

College of Engineering

Melissa Scheaffer

melissa.sch@usu.edu

melissa scheaffer

Principal Lecturer | Engineering Education

Shannon
Syrstad

shannon.syrstad@usu.edu

shannon syrstad

Research Engineer II | Utah Water Research Laboratory

Sierra
Browning

sierra.browning@usu.edu

sierra browning

Advisor | Mechanical Engineering

Meihua
Zhang

meihua.zhang@usu.edu

meihua zhang

Post-Doctoral Researcher | Aerodynamics

Qun Wang

claud.wang@usu.edu 

PhD Student | Electrical & Computer Engineering

 

 

Jon M. Huntsman School of Business

Alexander Ollerton

alex.ollerton@usu.edu 

Alexander Ollerton

Graduate Teaching Assistant 

Matthew D. Meng

matthew.meng@usu.edu 

Matthew Meng

Assistant Professor | Marketing & Strategy

Sterling
Bone

sterling.bone@usu.edu 

Sterling Bone

Professor | Marketing & Strategy

Polly
Conrad

polly.conrad@usu.edu 

Polly Conrad

Senior Lecturer | Data Analytics & Information Systems

Jason
Smith

jason.smith@usu.edu 

Jason Smith

Professor | Economics & Finance

Randy
Simmons

randy.simmons@usu.edu 

Randy Simmons

Professor | Economics & Finance

Erin
Bergeron

erin.bergeron@usu.edu 

Erin Bergeron

Advisor | Management

Blake
Nemelka

blake.nemelka@usu.edu 

Blake Nemelka

Assistant Director | Huntsman Scholar Program

Nate Q.
Jensen

nate.jensen@usu.edu 

Nate Jensen

Career Specialist | FJ Management Center for Student Success

 

Russell
Fisher

russell.fisher@usu.edu 

Russell K. Fisher

Lecturer, Associate Director | Marketing & Strategy, Center for Entrepreneurship

 

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Mark
Smeltzer

mark.smeltzer@usu.edu

mark smeltzer

Graduate Instructor | English

Nichelle
Frank

nichelle.frank@gmail.com

nichelle frank

Assistant Professor | History (USU Eastern)

Angela Montague

angela.montague@usu.edu

angela montague

Instructor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Joseph
Ward

joe.ward@usu.edu

joseph ward

Dean | College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Brentton
Hansen

brentton.hansen@gmail.com

Russ
Winn

russell.winn@usu.edu

russ winn

Lecturer | English

Cris
Meier

cris.meier@usu.edu 

Cris Meier

Assistant Professor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Jason
Leiker 

jason.leiker@usu.edu 

Jason Leiker

Principal Lecturer | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Meredith
Wang

meredith.wang@usu.edu

Assistant Professor | Journalism & Communications

Jayme
Walters

jayme.walters@usu.edu

Jayme Walters PhD (@jelizabeth04) | Twitter

Assistant Professor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Sam
Arungwa

sam.arungwa@usu.edu



Assistant Professor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology (USU Blanding)

Ashley
Wells

ashley.wells@usu.edu

ashley wells

Lecturer | English

Theodore
Andra

Ted.andra@usu.edu

Adjunct Instructor | English

Kim
Hales

kim.hales@usu.edu

Lecturer | English (USU Statewide)

Davis
Anderson

davis.anderson@usu.edu

Instructor | Political Science

Amanda
Plaizier

Amanda.plaizier@usu.edu

 

Jason
Gilmore

jason.gilmore@usu.edu

jason gilmore

Associate Professor | Languages, Philosophy, & Communications Studies

Marisela Martinez-Cola

marisela.martinez-cola@usu.edu

marisela martinez-cola

Assistant Professor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Guadalupe Marquez-Velarde

guadalupe.marquez-velarde@usu.edu

Guadalupe Marquez-Velarde

Assistant Professor | Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology

Christy
Glass

christy.glass@usu.edu

christy glass

Professor, Interim Director | Sociology, Social Work, and Anthropology

Colin
Flint

colin.flint@usu.edu

colin flint

Distinguished Professor | Political Science

Tammy
Proctor

tammy.proctor@usu.edu

tammy proctor

Distinguished Professor, Department Head | History

James
Sanders

james.sanders@usu.edu

james sanders

Professor | History

Joyce
Kinkead

joyce.kinkead@usu.edu

joyce kinkead

Professor | English

Jessica Rivera-Mueller

jessica.riveramueller@usu.edu

jessica rivera mueller

Assistant Professor | English

Tom
Liljegren

tom.liljegren@usu.edu

tom liljegren

Director | College of Humanities & Social Sciences Advising Center

Hannah
Stevens

Hannah.stevens@usu.edu

hannah stevens

Graduate Instructor | English

Omar
Cabrera

omar.cabrerapineda@usu.edu

 

 

College of Science

Adele
Cutler

adele.cutler@usu.edu

adele cutler

Professor | Mathematics & Statistics

John A.
Flores II

john.flores@usu.edu

Profile Picture

Principal Lecturer | Biology

Nick
Dickenson

Nick.dickenson@usu.edu

nicholas dickenson

Associate Professor | Chemistry & Biochemistry

Lisa M.
Berreau

lisa.berreau@usu.edu

lisa berreau

Vice President for Research, Professor | Chemistry & Biochemistry

KimberLeigh Felix Hadfield

k.hadfield@usu.edu

kimberleigh hadfield

Senior Lecturer | Mathematics & Statistics

Monica
Borghi

monica.borghi@usu.edu

monica borghi

Assistant Professor | Biology

Tonya
Triplett

tonya.triplett@usu.edu

tonya triplett

Principal Lecturer | Physics

Sara
Freeman

sara.freeman@usu.edu

sara freeman

Assistant Professor | Biology

Emily
Virgin

emilyevirgin@aggiemail.usu.edu

emily virgin

Graduate Student | Biology

Jordan
Truex

jordan.truex@usu.edu

jordan truex

Advisor | Chemistry & Biochemistry

Claudia
Ki

Claudia.ki@usu.edu

claudia ki

Graduate Student | Biology

Zach
Schumm

zach.schumm@usu.edu

Zach Schumm

Arthropod Diagnostician and Urban IPM Associate | USU Extension

Jaden
Turner

jaden.turner@usu.edu

Jaden Turner

Graduate Student | Biology 

Alana
Ward

alana.ward@usu.edu

Alana Ward

Business Manager | College of Science

Joe
Shope

joe.shope@usu.edu

System Administrator III | Biology

Lori
Hennigan

lori.hennigan@usu.edu

Lori Hennigan

Senior Director of Development | College of Science

S.J. & Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources

Janice
Brahney

janice.brahney@usu.edu

Dr. Janice Brahney

Faculty | Watershed Sciences

Tal
Avgar

tal.avgar@usu.edu

Dr. Tal Avgar

Assistant Professor | Wildland Resources

Trisha
Atwood

Trisha.atwood@usu.edu

Dr. Trisha Atwood

Faculty | Watershed Sciences

Cody
Zesiger

cody.zesiger@usu.edu

Cody Zesiger

Assistant Professor | Agriculture (USU Extension)

Joseph
Wheaton

joe.wheaton@usu.edu

Dr. Joseph Michael Wheaton

Faculty | Watershed Sciences

Mariya Shcheglovitova

mariya.shcheglovitova@usu.edu

Dr. Mariya Shcheglovitova

Assistant Professor | Environment & Society

Veronica
Winter

Veronica.winter@usu.edu

Veronica Winter

Graduate Student | Wildland Resources

Casey
Pennock

casey.pennock@usu.edu

Dr. Casey Pennock

Post-Doctoral Fellow | Watershed Sciences

Shantell
Garrett

shantell.garrett@aggiemail.usu.edu

Shantell Garrett

PhD Student | Wildland Resources

Jake
Richards

jake.richards@usu.edu

Jake Richards

Graduate Student | Recreation Resource Management

Academic and Instructional Services

Grecia
Jimenez

grecia.jimenez@usu.edu

Admissions Specialist | Admissions

Ryan
Jensen

ryan.jensen@usu.edu

Assistant Director | Admissions

Erin Wadsworth-Anderson

erin.anderson@usu.edu

Erin Anderson

Instructional Designer | Center for Innovative Design & Instruction

Jacob
Van den Akker

Jacob.vandenakker@usu.edu

Jacob Van den Akker

Assistant Director | Orientation & Transition Services

Rene
Eborn

rene.eborn@usu.edu

Rene Eborn

Special Assistant to the Vice President | Strategic Initiatives

Adela Dempkowski

adela.dempkowski@usu.edu

Residency Officer | Admissions

Stephanie Bagnell

stephanie.bagnell@usu.edu

Counselor | Financial Aid

Karla
Urie

karla.urie@usu.edu

Karla Urie

Advisor | Exploratory, Pre-Business

Tarren
Jessop

tarren.jessop@usu.edu 

Staff Assistant | Admissions

Shari
Christopherson

shari.christopherson@usu.edu 

Manager | Academic Testing Services

Charity Maeda Van den Akker

charity.maeda@usu.edu 
Charity

Program Coordinator II | Retention & Completion 

 

Student Affairs

Isamar
Jimenez

isamar.jimenez@usu.edu

Victim Advocate | Public Safety

Lindsey N. Burbank

lindsey.burbank@usu.edu

 

 

Michelle Bogdan-Holt

michelle.bogdan@usu.edu

Michelle Bogdan-Holt

Director | Inclusion Center

Daniel
Lawrence

Daniel.Lawrence@usu.edu

Daniel Lawrence

Director | Campus Recreation

Brittany
Fish

brittany.fish@usu.edu

brittney

Program Manager | Center for Community Engagement

Sarah Timmerman

sarah.timmerman@usu.edu

Sarah  Timmerman

Program Coordinator | Inclusion Center

Nathan
Laursen

Nathan.laursen@usu.edu

Nathan Laursen

Adviser, Program Coordinator | Student Involvement & Leadership Center

 

Business and Finance

Rhys
Jones

rhys.jones@usu.edu

Isela
Phelps

isela.phelps@usu.edu

Isela Phelps

Programmer Analyst | Information Technology

Alex
Bindrup

Alex.bindrup@usu.edu

Alex Bindrup

Instructional Designer | Human Resources

Rebecca Seamons

becca.seamons@usu.edu

 Executive Board & Committees | SEA | USU

HR Specialist | Human Resources

Jared
Leatham

jared.leatham@usu.edu

Coordinator, Interior Designer | Facilities Planning, Design, & Construction

Leif
Nyman

leif.nyman@usu.edu

Leif Nyman

Area Coordinator | Facilities

 

Athletics

Waqa
Damuni

waqa.damuni@usu.edu

Waqa Damuni

Assistant Athletics Director | Student Athlete Services

Tony
Hearrell

tony.hearrell@usu.edu

Tony Hearrell

Assistant Director | Compliance

Provost's Office, Advancement, Marketing, and Administration

Becky
Thoms

becky.thoms@usu.edu 

Becky Thoms's picture

Head of Digital Initiatives | Merrill-Cazier Library 

Pamela N. Martin

pamela.martin@usu.edu 

Reference Librarian | Merrill-Cazier Library

Alison
Adams-Perlac

alison.adams-perlac@usu.edu 

Alison  Adams-Perlac, JD

Executive Director | Office of Equity

Samantha Heafey

samantha.heafy@usu.edu 

 Samantha Heafey, JD

Equity Investigator | Office of Equity

Janet
Anderson

janet.anderson@usu.edu

 Janet Anderson

Vice Provost, Associate Vice President | Provost's Office, Academic & Instructional Services

Taylor
Adams

taylor.adams@usu.edu 

 Leadership | Student Achievement Collaborative | USU

Assistant Vice President | Statewide Campuses

Dana
Rhoades

dana.rhoades@usu.edu 

Dana Rhoades, MPC

Director | University Marketing

Scott
Olson

scott.olson@usu.edu 

 Scott Olson

Senior Director | Principal Giving (Advancement)

Jonathan
Young

jonathan.young@usu.edu 

 New Director of Annual Giving | USU

Director of Annual Giving | University Advancement

Brad
Duncan

brad.duncan@usu.edu 

Digital Initiatives Assistant | Merrill-Cazier Library

USU Statewide / USU Extension

Sarah
Pullman

sarah.pullman@usu.edu 

Business Manager | Business Services (USU Eastern)

Tim
Keady

tim.keady@usu.edu 

Assistant Professor | Extension Cache County

Ashley
Yaugher

ashley.yaugher@usu.edu 

Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator | Extension Carbon/Emery Counties

Casey Liljenquist

 

 

 

 

Latrisha
Fall

latrisha.fall@usu.edu 

Administrative Assistant | Uintah Basin-Vernal

Shane
Flanigan

shane.flanigan@usu.edu 

 

Vanessa
Liesik

vanessa.liesik@usu.edu 

Program Coordinator III | Uintah Basin- Roosevelt & Vernal

Rebecca
Berrett

rebecca.berrett@usu.edu 

Academic Advisor Coordinator | Statewide Campuses

 

Bailey
Horton

bailey.horton@usu.edu 

Program Coordinator | 4-H & Youth (Extension)

Jessica
Roueche

jessica.roueche@usu.edu 

Program Coordinator | Student Life (USU Blanding)

Jessica Prettyman

jessica.prettyman@usu.edu 

Staff Assistant | USU Eastern

Shanny
Wilson

shanny.wilson@usu.edu 

Director | Retention & First Year Experiences (USU Eastern)

 

Jess
Crank

jess.crank@usu.edu

Program Coordinator | Upward Bound (USU Eastern)

Chelsey 
Spears

chelsey.spears@usu.edu

Director | Student Life (USU Eastern)