The Department of Physics provides a variety of scholarships for Physics majors, including scholarships awarded through USU's Scholarship Universe program and scholarships awarded internally based on community involvement and contribution.

Available USU Scholarships for Physics Majors

Scholarship Universe Application Portal Information Scholarship Universe Portal

O. Harry Otteson Scholarship

Established in 1996 in honor of O. Harry Otteson to assist future generations of students in the Department of Physics. Recipients of this award shall be known as O. Harry Otteson Scholars.

Criteria: Recipients of this award shall be the physics major who has completed the general physics course with the highest score. In the event of a tie, other academic considerations will be weighed.

Gene Adams Scholarship

The family and friends of Gene Adams established this scholarship in 1993 to assist future generations of students in the Department of Physics of the College of Science at Utah State University. Gene Adams served as a research Professor in Physics and Electrical Engineering for 11 years. Recipients of this award shall be known as Gene Adams Scholars.   

Criteria: Recipients of this award must demonstrate academic achievement, financial need, and personal integrity. 

Dr. Howard L. Blood Undergraduate and Graduate Scholarship

Established in 2005, this scholarship is available to both graduate and undergraduate students to assist in their continued education in the field of physics. 

Criteria: Recipients should be physics majors in good standing entering their junior or senior year anticipating advanced studies in physics, or students entering or continuing their education in graduate studies in physics. Preference will be given to students with demonstrated financial need, from disadvantaged financial backgrounds, and/or physics students from historically underrepresented populations at Utah State University. 

Charles Durrell and Leah Hendricks Scholarship

This award was established in 2007 to support ongoing education in the field of physics.
"Undergraduate studies at Utah State gave me an excellent eucation in a very wide spectrum of physics, chemistry, and mathematics. I was able to couple my earlier experimental interest in electronics, chemistry, physics, fluid flow, explosives and photography with analytical and theoretical understadning to form a satisfying composite view of the scientific world. I want to give a bright, motivated physics major credit and encouragment for doing well in physics as well as in other courses." ~ Charles and Leah Hendricks

Criteria: Candidates for this award are junior standing physics majors, who are U.S. citizens. Consideration is given to academic merit, professional potential, and personal integrity.

Lawrence R. and Abelina Megill Scholarship

The Lawrence R. and Abelina Megill Scholarship is awarded to one physics student each year.

Criteria: This award is based on academic merit. Recipients will be physics majors in good standing in their junior year, and consideration will be given to candidates from groups or genders underrepresented in higher education. 


Internally Awarded Scholarships

David and Terry Peak Oustanding Achievement Award in Physics

Established in 2004, this award will acknowledge unusual achievement by students in teaching, research, and/or service.