Skip to main content

USU Announces 53rd Annual Robins Awards Winners

Monday, Apr. 18, 2011

USU Robins Award 2011 logo
Chris Martin, 2011 Robins Award Man of the Year

USU student Chris Martin was named the 2011 Man of the Year at the annual Robins Awards ceremony.

Jo Olsen won the Bill Robins Memorial Award, the feature award of Utah State University’s 53rd Annual Robins Awards.

The award credits the student who excels academically, displays outstanding leadership ability and shows dedication to Utah State. Olsen serves as the Student Alumni Association president. He has also served as the Aggies for Africa director, an A-Team member and the 2009-10 ASUSU Arts and Lectures director. Olsen proposed the “common hour,” providing a weekly time for opportunities of intellectual engagement outside of the classroom.

“The relationships we form at USU mean so much more than our GPA,” said Olsen. “Grades are important, but it’s about the experiences we have and the type of people we are becoming.”

Organized by Rachael Hansen, ASUSU traditions director, the Robins Awards are among the highest honors awarded at Utah State University and are named in memory of visionary student body president William E. Robins, who held office in 1949.

Linda Zimmerman, interim director for the Student Involvement and Leadership office, accepted the Gerald R. Sherratt Award. Unlike other Robins Awards, nominees for this award are not announced prior to the ceremony. The award is reserved for an individual member of the university community who has displayed superior leadership skills and abilities as well as unsurpassed dedication and service to others.

“It is an honor and privilege to work with the students of Utah State University. I love all of them,” said Zimmerman.

Other winners are Chris Martin, Man of the Year; Lacey Nagao, Woman of the Year; Effect International, Organization of the Year; The HURD, Achievement of the Year; Tyler Tolson, Val R. Christensen Service Award; Felicia Stehmeier, Talent of the Year; Liz McArthur, Female Athlete of the Year; Tai Wesley, Male Athlete of the Year; Kristina Morrey, Scholar of the Year; Stephanie Malin, Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year; Paul Wheeler, Faculty  Advisor of the Year; Alyssa Calder, Undergraduate Researcher of the YearJoyce Mumah, Graduate Research of the Year; Wei Ren, Faculty Research of the Year; and Frank Caliendo, Professor of the Year.

Writer/Contact: Hannah Blackburn, ASUSU PR director,

Post your Comment

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your submission will NOT be published online. Thank you.

More News

All news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU