Fulbright U.S. Core Scholar Program

The Fulbright Scholars program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, provides over 470 funding awards for teachers, scholars and professionals to conduct research, teach, or participate in seminars in over 125 countries.

Fulbright U.S. Core Scholar programs offer a variety of options to customize an experience which works for you. USU Fulbright advisors can assist in preparing for Fulbright applications.

Email or call 435-797-1124 to contact advisors.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be a U.S. citizen at the time of applica­tion (permanent residents are not eligible).
  • Award categories have specific requirements.

More information on eligibility require­ments, including ineligibility, is available for review.

Fulbright logo superimposed over an aerian shot of USU campus

How to Apply

Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar awards for the academic year 2020-2021, will open in February 2019.

USU faculty member and Fulbright U.S. Scholar alum John D. Rice serves as a national Fulbright Scholar Alumni Ambassador. We encourage faculty members interested in applying for a Fulbright Scholar award contact Dr. Rice for more information about the program and guidance on applying for an award.

Applicants should apply online for awards. Requirements such as tailored curriculum vitae, letters of reference, project statements and supplemental materials specific to the award will be required. Allow yourself plenty of time to gather the materials needed and meet deadlines.

USU Fulbright History

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar program has funded a large number of USU Fulbright Scholars to research or teach around the world. The identifies 28 core scholar grants for USU faculty since 2010. Many scholars have received two or three Fulbright awards during their academic career at USU.

USU was recognized in 2018 as a top-producing scholars university during the 2017-2018 award cycle. The university continues to see success as six scholars were awarded Fulbright grants for the 2018-2019 cycle.