External Advisory Committee

2021 Report Advisory Committee

The Janet Quinney Lawson Institute for Land, Water, and Air thanks the Report Advisory Committee for their hard work, voiced ideas, and commitment to guiding the institute's first project. The committee's mission and purpose were to provide guidance and observations concerning categories of content. In addition, the committee strategized ways in which report information could be accessed by and distributed to individuals, communities, government, non-profit, and private sector organizations. 

Advice was obtained not only in formal group discussions but also on an individual basis and during informal multiple member encounters. Because the co-chairs wished to thoroughly learn from the diverse perspectives of each of the committee members, there was no requirement that a group consensus be reached during ideation sessions. We did, however, overwhelmingly hear expectations of data built on solid science and communicated in a manner meaningful to people possessing multiple understandings, knowledges, and lived experience related to the science of land, water, and air. 

It is our intent that the institute, in collaboration with our external partners, will establish a foundation for conversation, learning, and rigorous scientific research, and will serve to inform in the universal marketplace of ideas. As we move forward new activities, we will continue to rely upon and seek guidance from Utahns representing the wide breadths of history, perspectives, and expertise that define our uniqueness as a state. 

Name Title/Organization
Neil Abercrombie Vice President for Government Relations at USU
Robert Adler Distinguished Professor at the S.J. Quinney College of Law at UofU
Dr. Paul Barr USU Vice Provost
John Baza Director of the Utah Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining
Sue Bellagamba Canyonlands Regional Director at Utah Nature Conservancy
Kelsey Berg Deputy Chief of Staff to Senator Mitt Romney
Rep. Joel Briscoe Utah House of Representatives
Craig Buttars Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Thom Carter Executive Director of the Governor's Office of Energy Development
Jon Cox Vice President of Government Relations at Rocky Mountain Power
Josh Craft Government and Corporate Relations Manager at Utah Clean Energy
Cameron Diehl Executive Director of Utah League of Cities and Towns
Sen. Luz Escamilla Utah State Senate
Brandy Grace CEO of Utah Association of Counties
Pitt Grewe Director of the Utah Office of Outdoor Recreation
Andrew Gruber Executive Director of Wasatch Front Regional Council
Rep. Tim Hawkes Utah House of Representatives
Sen. David Hinkins Utah State Senate
Beth Holbrook Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees
Dustin Jansen Director of the Utah Division of Indian Affairs
Redge Johnson Executive Director of the Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office
Dr. Chris Luecke Co-chair and Dean of the USU Quinney College of Natural Resources
Celeste Maloy Counsel for Congressman Christ Stewart
Corey Norman Chief of Staff to Congressman John Curtis
Tammy Pearson Commissioner for Beaver County
Mayor Kelleen Potter Mayor of Heber City
Dr. Ivonne Santiago ASPIRE, Advancing Sustainability through Powered Infrastructure for Roadway Electrification
Dr. Jennifer Seelig Director of Community Partnerships at USU
Jacey Skinner USU Board of Trustees
Dr. Brian Steed Co-chair and Executive Director of the Utah Department of Natural Resources
Shawn Teigen Vice President and Research Director at Utah Foundation
Sen. Evan Vickers Utah State Senate