Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

Natural Resources Week - Protect Water, Protect Life

USU's Quinney College of Natural Resources and the QCNR…


Summer Camps at Swaner EcoCenter

Registration for Swaner Preserve and EcoCenter’s…


Mountain Lion! The Story of Pumas and People

The exhibition blends science, history, and art to…


Katie Marchant, MFA

An art exhibit featuring work by USU MFA student Katie…


Dan P. Beard Lecture - 'New Perspectives on Western Water Policy'

During USU Natural Resources Week, the Quinney College of…

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

Reception Honors Carnegie Professor of the Year David Peak

Thursday, Jan. 14, 2010

Utah State University professor David Peak will be honored with a campus reception Thursday, Jan. 21, and all are welcome. The reception is held in the David B. Haight Alumni Center from 3-5 p.m., and is hosted by Ann Austin, vice provost for faculty development and diversity.
Peak, a professor in USU’s Physics Department, was named Utah’s 2009 Carnegie Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement and Support of Education. He was previously honored at the award announcement in Washington, D.C. in November 2009.
The Carnegie Professor of the Year award recognizes outstanding professors for their influence on teaching and their outstanding commitment to teaching undergraduate students. Awardees are selected from universities throughout the nation, and USU is home to nine of the last 15 Carnegie Professors of the Year in Utah.
Peak joined the Physics Department in the College of Science at USU in 1994.
Additionally, the Utah State University blue light atop Old Main will light the night sky Thursday, Jan. 21, to honor professor Peak. The Aggie Blue Pride Light atop Old Main lights the Cache Valley night sky as a symbol of Aggie tradition, heritage and pride. Classes, their instructors and students are a part of this heritage, contributing to the quality of Utah State.
Past USU Carnegie Professors of the Year are: Lyle McNeal, animal science (2007); Bonnie Glass-Coffin, anthropology (2004); Jan Sojka, physics (2002); David Lancy, anthropology (2001); Mark Damen, history (1998); Sonia Manuel-Dupont, English (1997); Ted Alsop, geography and earth resources (1996); and Frances Titchener, history (1995).
Source: Provost’s office
Contact: Melissa Keller, 435-797-1166

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly

Send your comment or question:

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your response will NOT be published online. Thank you.

NOTE: Do Not Alter These Fields, they are used to limit spam: