Utah State Today - University News

Utah State University Logo

National Walking Day

These days, we’re spending more time at work and…


Natural Resources Week - Protect Water, Protect Life

USU's Quinney College of Natural Resources and the QCNR…


Natural Resources Week - USU Forestry Club Loggers' Breakfast

During Natural Resources Week, let the USU Forestry Club…


Summer Camps at Swaner EcoCenter

Registration for Swaner Preserve and EcoCenter’s…


USU Spring Runoff Conference

For 2015, USU's premier annual water research conference…

More events


Blogger Facebook Twitter You Tube RSS

USU College of Science Recognizes Top Scholars

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2014

2014 USU student honorees from the College of Science
From left, Dean's Scholars Joseph Richardson and Bradley Buswell, Valedictorian Tyler Gish, Scholar of the Year Jacob Stewart and Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Rebecca Hansen were among scholars honored by the College of Science.
2014 College of Science faculty award winners
From left, Science's Undergrad Research Mentor of the Year Mike Taylor, Faculty Teacher of the Year Dave Brown and Faculty Researcher of the Year Michelle Baker. Brown also received USU’s 2014 Eldon J. Gardner Teacher of the Year Award.

Utah State University’s College of Science hosted an awards ceremony and reception April 23 to recognize the college’s top scholars.


“Today we honor our students for their hard work and for their service,” said Lisa Berreau, associate dean, who hosted the event along with Richard Cutler, head of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics. “We also honor our faculty and staff for their mentorship of students, excellence in research and their efforts in providing meaningful learning opportunities.”


Valedictorian for the college is Tyler Gish and Dean’s Scholars are Bradley Buswell, Katelyn Heaton and Joseph Richardson. The college’s Scholar of the Year is Jacob Stewart.


Rebecca Hansen is Peak Prize Undergraduate Researcher of the Year and Makde Gebre was named Undergraduate Teaching Fellow of the Year.


Receiving special recognition were 2014 Goldwater Scholar Rachel Nydegger and Goldwater Honorable Mention recipients David Griffin and Austin Spence.


Ben Pound was honored as a 2014 National Institute of Standards and Technology Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow.


A-Pin recipients are Bradley Buswell, Ryan Carlsen, Kyle Finlinson, Joseph Jepson, Tyson Larsen, Jorgen Madsen, David Maughan, Mychelle Parker, Joseph Richardson, Michael Sandberg, Austin Spence, Sidney Tate, Andrea Thomas, Kelby Young, Dixie Christensen, Zhiying Cui, Brent Gage, Julisa Gonzales, Maggi Goodell, Katelyn Heaton, Phillip Hunt, Hannah Rush and Holly Williams.


College of Science student senator Kellie Erickson was recognized for her service. Honored at the ceremony were fellow 2013-14 Science Council members Jordan Ballam, Heidi Bringhurst, Koalby Brown, Bradley Buswell, Sydney Dahl, Skyler Godfrey, Tanner Godfrey, Daniel Higley, Kaitlin Loosle, Danny Morris, Samantha Paterson, Michelle Shook and Kylie Walker, along with 2014-15 senator-elect Mikayla Mills.


2013-14 College of Science Ambassadors Isaac Allred, Bradley Buswell, Zhiying Cui, Tyler Gish, Taylor Jensen, Laura Mortenson, Gilbert Nelson, James Rohwer and Tanner Tripp were also honored at the ceremony.


Recognized as Honors graduates were Brooke Siler and Alysha Waters.


Undergraduates receiving scholarships, many established by the college’s alumni, donors, faculty and staff, were recognized at the campus gathering. Honorees include Jay Argue, Rhett Barton, Brandt Bateman, Jenessa Blotter, Alexandria Campbell, Sean Christensen, Kelli Dowd, Kyle Finlinson,  Joshua Gathro, Tanner Godfrey, Andrea Halling, Nikki Jeffs, Jeffrey Jenkins, Jordan Jensen, Patricia Jensen, Joseph Jepson, Kylie Johnson, Daniel Kidd, Brian Langston, Maggie Lewis, Jorden Madsen, Nicole Martineau, Jennifer Pomrenke, James Rohwer, Warren Schweigert, Brian Skinner, Kylee Sorensen, Jason Stewart, Tanner Tripp, Raddison Veater, Ryan Wallentine and Christopher Williams.



Graduate Student (PhD) Researcher of the Year is Timur Galeev and Graduate Student Teacher of the Year is James Odei. Galeev and Odei received top university honors in these categories during USU’s April 19 Robins Awards ceremony.


Graduate fellowships and scholarships went to Upendra Adhikari, Stacey Anderson, Abram Bernard, Andrew Durso, Jacqueline Johnson, Binod Nepal, Elizabeth Ogata and Kirk Townsend.


Graduate student Elizabeth Ogata and graduating senior Tyler Gish were recognized as 2014 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship program honorable mention recipients.


James Evans was recognized as the 2014 recipient of USU’s D. Wynne Thorne Career Research Award, the university’s top research honor.


Faculty Teacher of the Year is David Brown. Brown was honored at USU’s April 19 Robins Awards as the 2014 recipient of the Eldon J. Gardner Teacher of the Year Award, the university’s top teaching honor.


Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year is Michael Taylor and Faculty Researcher of the Year is Michelle Baker


Faculty members Dane Hansen and Jan Sojka received special recognition for 35 years of service. Stephen Bialkowski and Stanley Williams were honored for 30 years of service.


Also recognized at the ceremony were Diane Alston, Adele Cutler, Richard Cutler, J.R. Dennison, Joseph Koebbe, Teresa Passey, Gregory Podgorski and Kimberly Sullivan for 25 years of service.


Cindy Moulton and David York were honored upon their retirement from the university.


The College of Science includes the academic departments of Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Mathematics and Statistics, Geology and Physics.


Related link:

USU College of Science


Contact: Lisa Berreau, 435-797-3509, lisa.berreau@usu.edu
Writer: Mary-Ann Muffoletto, 435-797-3517, maryann.muffoletto@usu.edu

     email icon  Email story       printer icon  Printer friendly

Send your comment or question:

We welcome your response. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Please be sure to provide a valid email address so we can contact you, if needed. Your response will NOT be published online. Thank you.

NOTE: Do Not Alter These Fields, they are used to limit spam: