MacMahon Research Award

James A. and Patricia A. MacMahon Endowed Ecology Graduate Student Scholarship

Established by Trustee Professor and internationally renowned ecologist Jim and Patty MacMahon to assist future generations of graduate students studying ecology in the Department of Biology. Friends of MacMahon may designate a gift towards the endowment to grow this award for years to come or directly towards scholarship funds to be awarded in the coming year.

The MacMahon scholarships are awarded annually to outstanding graduate students in the Department of Biology focusing on ecological research. The awards directly benefit student research funding equipment and supply purchases, field research, and travel expenses.

MacMahon received his doctorate in biology in 1964 from the University of Notre Dame. He graduated cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in zoology in 1960 from Michigan State University. He served as president of the Environmental Science and Research Foundation and director of the Research and Education Division of the Associated Western Universities.

In 1999, he was awarded the distinction of fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an honor extended to select members of the society. He was also president from 1997-98 of the Ecological Society of America, and in 2005 he received the society's Distinguished Service Citation.

MacMahon received the Distinguished Service Award from the Utah Academy of Art, Science and Letters in 1994. He was awarded the first Governor's Medal for Excellence in Science and Technology in 1987. He won the Wynne Thorne Research Award in 1988, USU's top research honor, and was named USU College of Science Professor of the Year in 1980. In 2002, MacMahon received USU's Leone Leadership Award, the university's top leadership honor, for his endless efforts to organize, motivate, improvise, guide and solve problems.

MacMahon joined USU in 1971 and has served the university in a variety of academic and administrative capacities. Afterheading the Biology Department from 1985-1989, he assumed the deanship of the College of Science until July 2000, when he was appointed vice president for university advancement. He was named a trustee professor in 2002. MacMahon served as the Director of the USU Ecology Center and chaired the board of directors for the National Ecological Observatory Network known as "NEON". He returned as dean of the College of Science in 2009. MacMahon will step down as Dean of the College of Science on 1 July 2014 and resume his research role in the Department of Biology.

How to Give

MacMahon Research Award

Credit, Debit, PayPal, Venmo or Bank Transfer


Utah State University
Department of Biology, MacMahon Research Award
1590 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-1590

Make checks payable to "Utah State University."


Stock or Wire Transfer:
Contact Kade Burnham at 435-797-1413 or for instructions.