Teaching & Learning

Seven USU Teaching Scholars Receive Professional Development Awards

By Megan McCuistion |

After a competitive application process, the Utah State University Office of Empowering Teaching Excellence Committee for Scholar Awards has announced its 2020 cohort of scholars.

This year’s ETE Scholars include:

  • Jocelyn Cuthbert – Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Animal, Dairy and Veterinary Sciences
  • Julia Gossard – Assistant Professor, Department of History
  • Karin deJonge-Kannan – Principal Lecturer, Department of Language, Philosophy, and Communication Studies
  • Lianne Wappett – Lecturer, Department of Data Analytics and Information Systems
  • Sarah Tulane – Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Studies
  • Shawn Miller – Lecturer, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Timothy Chenette – Associate Professor, Department of Music

“The ETE Scholars professional development program is new to USU with targeted funding for scholars to examine teaching practices and engage in active research with an emphasis to understand student learning,” said Assistant Vice President John Louviere. “We look forward to learn from the research discoveries and how our newly funded cohort will be sharing their insights back into our USU educational community and beyond.”

The program provides funding for professional development and resources associated with a SoTL project, while also giving support in the development, implementation, and dissemination process. The ETE Scholars program is facilitated by Sylvia Read, Mitchell Colver and Travis Thurston.

The ETE Scholar Awards program provides a small monetary award to support the cohort of faculty to engage in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Funding can be used by scholars for professional development, classroom technology or employing graduate students to assist on projects or in any other way related to their SoTL projects.

“Engaging in the scholarship of teaching and learning not only gives us a chance to implement evidence-based teaching strategies in the classroom, but it takes it a step further by evaluating how our teaching actually impacts student learning,” Thurston said. “The work this cohort is taking on will contribute to the research, and it will contribute to our teaching practice here at USU.”

According to the program website, the ETE Scholars will be introduced to the fundamentals of SoTL through reading current literature, completing online materials, participating in online discussion boards and synchronous meeting discussion. Scholars will gain knowledge of, and experience in, the various stages of conducting a SoTL project from start to finish.

In order to apply for the ETE Scholars program, interested participants must be a current instructor at any level on any USU Campus. Scholars are also engaged in improving their teaching practice and committed to improving student learning and must be interested in conducting an inquiry project related to teaching and learning.


Megan McCuistion
Athletics Media Relations


Travis Thurston
Assistant Director
The Office of Empowering and Teaching Excellence


Awards 493stories Teaching 91stories

Post your Comment

We welcome your comments but your submission will NOT be published online. Your comment or question will be forwarded to the appropriate person. Thank you.

Post your Comment

Next Story in Teaching & Learning

See Also