Departmental Honors Advisors

Departmental Honors Advisors (DHAs) are faculty who work as liaisons between the Honors Program and their home departments or statewide campuses. DHAs act as a source of information about Honors for all faculty and students in their department/area. They actively recruit new Honors students and mentors, and they help existing Honors students to complete outstanding work in both Honors and the discipline. Faculty can approach DHAs with questions about recruiting or mentoring Honors students; students themselves can ask DHAs for advice about Honors and its intersections with their work in the discipline. DHAs approve both proposals and completion documentation for Honors Mentoring Agreements (contract), and they work alongside mentors to help Honors students complete and earn approval for their Honors Capstone Projects.

Caine College of the Arts

College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences

College of Engineering

  • Biological Engineering: Dr. Elizabeth Vargis (vargis@usu.edu; 435-797-0618 or ENGR 402M)
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering: Dr. John Rice (john.rice@usu.edu; 435-797-8611 or EL 272)
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering: Dr. Todd Moon (todd.moon@usu.edu; 435-797-2970 or EL 154)
  • Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Dr. Joel Ellsworth (joel.ellsworth@usu.edu; 435-797-0250 or EL 292)

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

College of Science

Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and
Human Services

Jon M. Huntsman School of Business

S.J. and Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources

Statewide Honors Pilot Campuses

  • Brigham City: Professor Nikole Eyre (nikole.eyre@usu.edu; 435-919-1305 or BCBCCR 118F, USU Brigham City campus
  • Price: Dr. Jeffrey Spears (jeff.spears@usu.edu; 435-613-5011 CIB 204, USU Price campus)
  • Uintah Basin: Dr. Mike Christiansen (m.christiansen@usu.edu; 435-722-1761 or 320 N. Aggie Blvd., Vernal, USU Uintah Basin campus)