Empower Teaching

The Office of Empowering Teaching Excellence elevates and promotes our culture of teaching excellence through events and programs that are open to all USU instructors, regardless of role statement or location.



What does ETE offer?

Digital Badges & Development Programs

Earn badges for professional development

To develop a culture of teaching excellence, ETE offers professional development programs that are free to all instructors at USU. These programs include ETE10, where instructors can earn digital badges and certifications, peer reviews of teaching, and student collaborations on teaching.

Professional Development Events

Participate in university-wide events

Whether or not you want to earn digital badges, all USU instructors (regardless of role statement) are welcome to participate in our many professional development events. All events are centered around current research in teaching and learning and can help you make positive changes to your instruction.

Publications on Teaching and Learning

Regardless of your discipline, you can contribute 

There are many ways to contribute to USU's culture of teaching excellence: presenting in the ETE conference or other ETE events, submitting to the Journal for Empower Teaching Excellence, participating on ETE committees, submitting a book chapter to the ETE book series, and more.

Backed By Experience

2,560+

Badges Awarded

50+

Certificates Awarded

556+

Instructors Participating in ETE10

570

2020 ETE Conference Attendees

23,400+

Downloads of Journal on ETE



ETE In The News


Our Team

Travis Thurston

Dr. Travis Thurston

Assistant Director
travis.thurston@usu.edu

Michelle Arnold

Michelle Arnold

Coordinator
michelle.arnold@usu.edu

Samantha Clem

Samantha Clem

Diversity & Inclusion Specialist
samantha.clem@usu.edu

Lilly Jean Bautista

Lilly Jean Bautista

Instructional Specialist
lillyjean.bautista@usu.edu

Tana Haag

Tana Haag

Social Media & Marketing Specialist
tana.haag@usu.edu

Addy Kirkham

Addy Kirkham

Undergraduate Research Assistant
addy.kirkham@usu.edu

Tana Haag

Thalya Cruz

Undergraduate Teaching Fellow
thalya.cruz@usu.edu

Tana Haag

Luke White

Undergraduate Teaching Fellow
luke.white@usu.edu