Empower Teaching

The Office of Empowering Teaching Excellence elevates and promotes our culture of teaching excellence through events and programs that are open to all USU instructors, regardless of role statement or location.



What does ETE offer?

Digital Badges & Development Programs

Earn badges for professional development

To develop a culture of teaching excellence, ETE offers professional development programs that are free to all instructors at USU. These programs include ETE10, where instructors can earn digital badges and certifications, peer reviews of teaching, and student collaborations on teaching.

Professional Development Events

Participate in university-wide events

Whether or not you want to earn digital badges, all USU instructors (regardless of role statement) are welcome to participate in our many professional development events. All events are centered around current research in teaching and learning and can help you make positive changes to your instruction.

Publications on Teaching and Learning

Regardless of your discipline, you can contribute 

There are many ways to contribute to USU's culture of teaching excellence: presenting in the ETE conference or other ETE events, submitting to the Journal for Empower Teaching Excellence, participating on ETE committees, submitting a book chapter to the ETE book series, and more.

Check out teach.usu.edu, a new hub for teaching resources!


Backed By Experience

2,855

Badges Awarded

99

Certificates Awarded

311+

Active Participants in ETE10

570

2020 ETE Conference Attendees

35,400+

Downloads of Journal on ETE



ETE In The News


Our Team

Travis Thurston

Dr. Travis Thurston

Director of Teaching Excellence
travis.thurston@usu.edu

Michelle Arnold

Shelley Arnold

Instructional Coordinator
shelley.arnold@usu.edu

Sam Clem

Sam Clem

Diversity & Inclusion Specialist
sam.clem@usu.edu

Lilly Jean Bautista

Lilly Jean Bautista

Instructional Specialist
lillyjean.bautista@usu.edu

ETE avatar

Kadie Kunz

SCOT
kadie.kunz@usu.edu

ETE avatar

Amber Reed

SCOT
amber.reed@usu.edu

Kelli Munns

Kelli Munns

PD & Assessment Specialist
kelli.munns@usu.edu

ETE avatar

Marilyn Cuch

Faculty Chair & ACUE Facilitator
marilyn.cuch@usu.edu