Legacy of Utah State Award

The Legacy of Utah State Award is given each year to recognize and emphasize a student who represents the heart and soul of the university. Students should show a commitment to the institution and their program of study, as well as demonstrate internal involvement and service, department dedication, perseverance during times of adversity, and contribution behind the scenes.

The Nomination Process

The dean is to appoint a committee with students, faculty, and administrative representation to select an average, but committed student from each college. A committee with representatives from each college reviews each submission. This committee selects the winner of the "Legacy of Utah State Award" from the eight college nominees. The person is recognized at the annual Robins Awards. 

For questions, please contact Suzanne Thorpe in the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs at suzanne.thorpe@usu.edu or (435) 797-9250.

Award Recipients

  • Kathryn Orme | College of Agriculture & Applied Science | 2019 
  • Tien Thuy Lindsay | College of Science | 2018
  • Erik Gray | Emma Eccles Jones College of Education & Human Services | 2017
  • Dallin Wengert | College of Agriculture and Applied Science | 2016
  • Cathy Mangum | College of Science | 2015
  • Tommy Thompson | S.J. & Jessie E. Quinney College of Natural Resources | 2014
  • Kasondra Payne | College of Humanities & Social Sciences | 2013
  • Lisa Boyd | College of Natural Resources | 2012
  • Caleb Kauffman | College of Natural Resources | 2011
  • Andrew J. Hobson | College of Engineerin | 2010
  • Heather Barger | Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services | 2009
  • Bradley Hintze | College of Science | 2008
  • Coby Champneys | College of Agriculture | 2007