Student Fees

Student Fee Process

fa-info
In the 2020-2021 academic year, at the suggestion of the Utah System of Higher Education, student officers and university administration began the process of selecting different student fees that would be more appropriately funded through tuition to reduce the burden of fees paid by students. During the annual student fee board meeting, the movement of certain fees to tuition and other sources of funding were presented and were later formalized by University administration. As a result, the technology, Aggie Blue Bike, health services, counseling and psychological fees and portions of athletics, and Aggie shuttle fees were moved to tuition. Fees were reduced $105.00 per 12-18 credits taken.

Your student fees go through a multistep process and are reviewed annually for approval by students, the university president, the USU Board of Trustees, and ultimately, the Utah Board of Higher Education.

A fee begins its approval process at the student fee board. USU has two fee boards: one for the Logan campus and one for Statewide Campuses. The student fee board consists of elected student body officers, administrators, and seven appointed students-at-large, who apply to serve on the fee board each year. The student fee board roster can be found further down this page.

Each fee is represented on the board by a student body officer as well as a staff member as an administrative representative. Each year, the student body officer and administrator convene a group to review the fee’s budget and financial status to determine if the fee will stay the same, decrease, or increase. They fill out the necessary forms and present their request to the student fee board.

The full fee board hears presentations from any fee receiving areas requesting an increase. The board votes to approve the whole or partial amount requested.

All recommendations on fee increases or decreases are compiled in a letter of recommendation sent to the university president.

Please refer to the USU Logan Campus Student Fee Board Policy for more information.

The student fee board’s recommendation is discussed and presented at an annual public Truth-in-Tuition hearing by the university president and USUSA president. All concerned students and citizens are invited to attend.

2021 Truth-in-Tuition Hearing
March 3rd, 2021
TSC Ballroom | Broadcast to all Statewide Campuses 
Noon
The hearing was livestreamed at aggiecast.usu.edu, and the recording can be viewed below.

Utah State University is proposing several changes to tuition and student fees rates. The overall net effect will be a 0% change in student fees and a 0% to 2.9% increase ($0 to $98 increase) in tuition, depending on the campus, for a full-time resident undergraduate student.

After the hearing, the university president will review the student fee board’s recommendation and send in a presidential recommendation to the USU Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees reviews the president's recommendation and forwards their recommendation to the Utah Board of Higher Education for approval.

In the language of the new Utah Board of Higher Education student fee policy 6.5, "the Board shall consider the board of trustees' recommendation and, by majority vote in a public Board meeting, approve, modify, or deny the establishment, revision, continuance, or repeal of a general student fee."

 

2021-2022 Rates Per Semester

*Rates are for 12-18 credits. See usu.edu/registrar/tuition/ for full list of credits and corresponding fees under “Tuition and Fee Schedules”.

Current Student Fees

Moved to Tuition and Other Sources of Funding

Member Office Chair of Fee Receiving Area Adminstrator of Fee Receiving Area Business Services Respresentative
Porter Casdorph
executivevp.ususa@usu.edu
Executive VP USFB Chair James Morales / Suzanne Thorpe
james.morales@usu.edu / suzanne.thorpe@usu.edu
Taya Flores
taya.flores@usu.edu
Lucas Stevens
president.ususa@usu.edu
President Activity Fee Linda Zimmerman
linda.zimmerman@usu.edu / sophia.may@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana
gradsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Grad. Studies Senator      
Ethan Conlee
studentadvocatevp.ususa@usu.edu
Student Advocate VP Building Fee Dan Christensen
d.christensen@usu.edu
Glen Schmidt
glen.schmidt@usu.edu
Max Roberts
prandmarketing.ususa@usu.edu
PR Director Activity Fee (Statesman) Nate Laursen
nathan.laursen@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Britney Dikwa-Nkrumah
engrsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Engineering Senator Computer Fee Gary Egbert
gary.egbert@usu.edu
Amy Kitchen
amy.kitchen@usu.edu
Alexis Needleman
studenteventsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Student Events VP Student Center Fee Ray Cheatham
ray.cheatham@usu.edu
Brandi Gittins
brandi.gittins@usu.edu
Taylor Sampson
athleticsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Athletics VP Athletics Jerry Bovee / Jamie Sweeten
jerry.bovee@usu.edu / jamie.sweeten@usu.edu
Maggie McInerney
maggie.mcinerney@usu.edu
Sophia Lesser Thorngren
ccasenator.ususa@usu.edu
Art Senator Music/Theater Fee Richard Walker
richard.walker@usu.edu
Keri Shoemaker
keri.shoemaker@usu.edu
Meridian Wappett
nrsenator.ususa@usu.edu
NR Senator      
Chloe Christopher
educationsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Education Senator Bus Fee James Nye
james.nye@usu.edu 
Jess Geddes
jess.geddes@usu.edu
Celeste Rodriguez
chasssenator.ususa@usu.edu
CHaSS Senator Library Fee Robert Heaton
robert.heaton@usu.edu
Rachel Hamm
rachel.hamm@usu.edu
Jonathan Mousley
sciencesenator.ususa@usu.edu
Science Senator      
Emilee Harmon
diversityandclubsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Diversity VP Campus Recreation Fee Daniel Lawrence
daniel.lawrence@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Drew Thorngren
huntsmansenator.ususa@usu.edu
Business Senator Aggie Recreation Center Fee Daniel Lawrence
daniel.lawrence@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Cade Cox
caassenator.ususa@usu.edu
CAAS Senator      

James Morales Vice President for Student Affairs - Voting Member
Eric Olsen Associate Vice President for Student Affairs - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Linda Zimmerman Director for Student Involvement & Leadership - Ex Offico member (non-voting/executive secretary)
Whitney Pugh Executive Director Budget & Planning Office - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Sophia May SILC Staff Assistant (Non-voting member-secretary)

Member Office
Braxton Evans
swcpresident.ususa@usu.edu
Statewide Campus President
Que Begay
execvp.blanding@usu.edu
Blanding Executive VP
Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana
gradsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Grad. Studies Senator
Barbi Swenson
brighamvp.ususa@usu.edu
Brigham City Executive VP
Becky Hinchcliff
moabvp.ususa
Moab Executive VP
Sherri Callister
southwestvp.ususa
Southwest Executive VP
Julie Andrews
tooelevp.ususa
Tooele Executive VP
Lindsay Cook
uintahvp.ususa@usu.edu
Uintah Basin Executive VP
Natoya Chung
wasatchvp.ususa@usu.edu
Wasatch Executive VP
Taylor Adams
taylor.adams@usu.edu
Assistant Vice President, Statewide Campuses
James Morales
james.morales@usu.edu
Vice President for Student Affairs
Eric Curwen
eric.curwen@usu.edu
Director, Student Life
Shilo Martinez
shilo.martinez@usu.edu
Program Coordinator, Blanding Campus
Sophia May
sophia.may@usu.edu
Program Coordinator, Logan Campus
Bryson Pugh
esapresident@usu.edu
EUSA President
Christine Downs Cisneros 
crissy.downs@usu.edu
Statewide Campuses Financial Officer