Student Fees

Student Fee Process

Your student fees go through a multistep process and are reviewed annually for approval by students, the university president, the USU Board of Trustees, and ultimately, the Utah Board of Higher Education.

A fee begins its approval process at the student fee board. USU has two fee boards: one for the Logan campus and one for Statewide Campuses. The student fee board consists of elected student body officers, administrators, and seven appointed students-at-large, who apply to serve on the fee board each year. The student fee board roster can be found further down this page.

Each fee is represented on the board by a student body officer as well as a staff member as an administrative representative. Each year, the student body officer and administrator convene a group to review the fee’s budget and financial status to determine if the fee will stay the same, decrease, or increase. They fill out the necessary forms and present their request to the student fee board.

The full fee board hears presentations from any fee receiving areas requesting an increase. The board votes to approve the whole or partial amount requested.

All recommendations on fee increases or decreases are compiled in a letter of recommendation sent to the university president.

Please refer to the USU Logan Campus Student Fee Board Policy for more information.

The student fee board’s recommendation is discussed and presented at an annual public Truth-in-Tuition hearing by the university president and USUSA president. All concerned students and citizens are invited to attend.

2021 Truth-in-Tuition Hearing
March 3rd, 2021
TSC Ballroom | Broadcast to all Statewide Campuses 
Noon
The hearing will also be livestreamed at aggiecast.usu.edu.

Utah State University is proposing several changes to tuition and student fees rates. The overall net effect will be a 0% change in student fees and a 0% to 2.9% increase ($0 to $98 increase) in tuition, depending on the campus, for a full-time resident undergraduate student.

After the hearing, the university president will review the student fee board’s recommendation and send in a presidential recommendation to the USU Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees reviews the president's recommendation and forwards their recommendation to the Utah Board of Higher Education for approval.

In the language of the new Utah Board of Higher Education student fee policy 6.5, "the Board shall consider the board of trustees' recommendation and, by majority vote in a public Board meeting, approve, modify, or deny the establishment, revision, continuance, or repeal of a general student fee."

 

2020-2021 Rates Per Semester

*Rates are for 12-18 credits. See usu.edu/registrar/tuition/ for full list of credits and corresponding fees under “Tuition and Fee Schedules”.

Member Office Chair of Fee Receiving Area Adminstrator of Fee Receiving Area Business Services Respresentative
Lucas Stevens
executivevp.ususa@usu.edu
Executive VP USFB Chair James Morales / Suzanne Thorpe
james.morales@usu.edu / suzanne.thorpe@usu.edu
Taya Flores
taya.flores@usu.edu
Sami Ahmed
president.ususa@usu.edu
President Activity Fee Linda Zimmerman
linda.zimmerman@usu.edu / sophia.may@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Alex Braeger
gradsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Grad. Studies Senator Health Fee Scott Deberard
scott.deberard@usu.edu
Vicki Laursen
vicki.laursen@usu.edu
Jenn Ha
studentadvocatevp.ususa@usu.edu
Student Advocate VP Building Fee Dan Christensen
d.christensen@usu.edu
Glen Schmidt
glen.schmidt@usu.edu
Rachel Arner
prandmarketing.ususa@usu.edu
PR Director Activity Fee (Statesman) Nate Laursen
nathan.laursen@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Cooper Karras
engrsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Engineering Senator Computer Fee Gary Egbert
gary.egbert@usu.edu
Amy Kitchen
amy.kitchen@usu.edu
Porter Casdorph
studenteventsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Student Events VP Student Center Fee Ray Cheatham
ray.cheatham@usu.edu
Brandi Gittins
brandi.gittins@usu.edu
Trevor Wilkey
athleticsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Athletics VP Athletics Jerry Bovee / Jamie Sweeten
jerry.bovee@usu.edu / jamie.sweeten@usu.edu
Maggie McInerney
maggie.mcinerney@usu.edu
Ryker Marble
ccasenator.ususa@usu.edu
Art Senator Music/Theater Fee Richard Walker
richard.walker@usu.edu
Keri Shoemaker
keri.shoemaker@usu.edu
Maria Catalano
nrsenator.ususa@usu.edu
NR Senator Aggie Blue Bikes Meg McCarthy
margaret.mccarthy@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Elizabeth Drake
educationsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Education Senator Bus Fee James Nye
james.nye@usu.edu 
Jess Geddes
jess.geddes@usu.edu
Olivia Hoge
chasssenator.ususa@usu.edu
CHaSS Senator Library Fee Robert Heaton
robert.heaton@usu.edu
Rachel Hamm
rachel.hamm@usu.edu
Noah Braeger
sciencesenator.ususa@usu.edu
Science Senator Sustainability Fee Sean Damitz
sean.damitz@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Oscar Diaz
diversityandclubsvp.ususa@usu.edu
Diversity VP Campus Recreation Fee Daniel Lawrence
daniel.lawrence@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Brock Hardcastle
huntsmansenator.ususa@usu.edu
Business Senator Aggie Recreation Center Fee Daniel Lawrence
daniel.lawrence@usu.edu
Jennifer Seamons
jennifer.seamons@usu.edu
Austin Flitton
caassenator.ususa@usu.edu
CAAS Senator CAPS Fee Scott Deberard
scott.deberard@usu.edu
Vicki Laursen
vicki.laursen@usu.edu

James Morales Vice President for Student Affairs - Voting Member
Eric Olsen Associate Vice President for Student Affairs - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Linda Zimmerman Director for Student Involvement & Leadership - Ex Offico member (non-voting/executive secretary)
Whitney Pugh Executive Director Budget & Planning Office - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Sophia May SILC Staff Assistant (Non-voting member-secretary)

Students at Large

Jonathan Ashdown acollegeemailfororganization@gmail.com
Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana niyonta.ncm@aggiemail.usu.edu
Hailey Darrow hailey.darrow@aggiemail.usu.edu
Braden Morrill braden.morrill32@gmail.com
Christopher Peragallo cjperagallo@gmail.com
Clark Rawson clarkerawson56@gmail.com
Chad Withers chad.withers@usu.edu

Member Office
Nathan Rawlings
swcpresident.ususa@usu.edu
Statewide Campus President
Hunter Warren
execvp.blanding@usu.edu
Blanding Executive VP
Alex Braeger
gradsenator.ususa@usu.edu
Grad. Studies Senator
Kelsey Johnson
brighamvp.ususa@usu.edu
Brigham City Executive VP
Haley Rice
moabvp.ususa
Moab Executive VP
Leahra Fernandez
southwestvp.ususa
Southwest Executive VP
Braxton Evans
tooelevp.ususa
Tooele Executive VP
Kaitlyn Buckner
uintahvp.ususa@usu.edu
Uintah Basin Executive VP
Karlin Bauman
wasatchvp.ususa@usu.edu
Wasatch Executive VP
Taylor Adams
taylor.adams@usu.edu
Assistant Vice President, Statewide Campuses
James Morales
james.morales@usu.edu
Vice President for Student Affairs
Chelsey Spears
chelsey.spears@usu.edu
Director, Student Life
Jessica Roueche
jessica.roueche@usu.edu
Program Coordinator, Blanding Campus
Sophia May
sophia.may@usu.edu
Program Coordinator, Logan Campus
Sione Siaki
esapresident@usu.edu
EUSA President
Christine Downs Cisneros 
crissy.downs@usu.edu
Statewide Campuses Financial Officer