Student Fees

Student Fee Process

In the 2020-2021 academic year, at the suggestion of the Utah System of Higher Education, student officers and university administration began the process of selecting different student fees that would be more appropriately funded through tuition to reduce the burden of fees paid by students. During the annual student fee board meeting, the movement of certain fees to tuition and other sources of funding were presented and were later formalized by University administration. As a result, the technology, Aggie Blue Bike, health services, counseling and psychological fees and portions of athletics, and Aggie shuttle fees were moved to tuition. Fees were reduced $105.00 per 12-18 credits taken.

Your student fees go through a multistep process and are reviewed annually for approval by students, the university president, the USU Board of Trustees, and ultimately, the Utah Board of Higher Education.

Student Fee Board Minutes 1/19/2022
Student Fee Board MInutes 1/29/2022

A fee begins its approval process at the student fee board. USU has two fee boards: one for the Logan campus and one for Statewide Campuses. The student fee board consists of elected student body officers, administrators, and seven appointed students-at-large, who apply to serve on the fee board each year. The student fee board roster can be found further down this page.

Each fee is represented on the board by a student body officer as well as a staff member as an administrative representative. Each year, the student body officer and administrator convene a group to review the fee’s budget and financial status to determine if the fee will stay the same, decrease, or increase. They fill out the necessary forms and present their request to the student fee board.

The full fee board hears presentations from any fee receiving areas requesting an increase. The board votes to approve the whole or partial amount requested.

All recommendations on fee increases or decreases are compiled in a letter of recommendation sent to the university president.

Please refer to the USU Logan Campus Student Fee Board Policy for more information.

The student fee board’s recommendation is discussed and presented at an annual public Truth-in-Tuition hearing by the university president and USUSA president. All concerned students and citizens are invited to attend.

2022 Truth-in-Tuition Hearing
March 15, 2022
TSC Ballroom | Broadcast to all Statewide Campuses 
The hearing will be livestreamed at

Last years, 2021-22 hearing can be viewed below.

Utah State University is proposing several changes to tuition and student fees rates. The overall net effect will be a 0% change in student fees and a 0% to 2.9% increase ($0 to $98 increase) in tuition, depending on the campus, for a full-time resident undergraduate student.

After the hearing, the university president will review the student fee board’s recommendation and send in a presidential recommendation to the USU Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees reviews the president's recommendation and forwards their recommendation to the Utah Board of Higher Education for approval.

In the language of the new Utah Board of Higher Education student fee policy 6.5, "the Board shall consider the board of trustees' recommendation and, by majority vote in a public Board meeting, approve, modify, or deny the establishment, revision, continuance, or repeal of a general student fee."


2022-2023 Rates Per Semester

*Rates are for 12-18 credits. See for full list of credits and corresponding fees under “Tuition and Fee Schedules”.

Current Student Fees

Moved to Tuition and Other Sources of Funding

Member Office Chair of Fee Receiving Area Adminstrator of Fee Receiving Area Business Services Respresentative
Porter Casdorph
Executive VP USFB Chair James Morales / Suzanne Thorpe /
Taya Flores
Lucas Stevens
President Activity Fee Linda Zimmerman /
Jennifer Seamons
Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana
Grad. Studies Senator      
Ethan Conlee
Student Advocate VP Building Fee Dan Christensen
Glen Schmidt
Max Roberts
PR Director Activity Fee (Statesman) Nate Laursen
Jennifer Seamons
Britney Dikwa-Nkrumah
Engineering Senator Computer Fee Gary Egbert
Amy Kitchen
Alexis Needleman
Student Events VP Student Center Fee Ray Cheatham
Brandi Gittins
Taylor Sampson
Athletics VP Athletics Jerry Bovee / Jamie Sweeten /
Maggie McInerney
Sophia Lesser Thorngren
Art Senator Music/Theater Fee Richard Walker
Keri Shoemaker
Meridian Wappett
NR Senator      
Chloe Christopher
Education Senator Bus Fee James Nye 
Jess Geddes
Celeste Rodriguez
CHaSS Senator Library Fee Robert Heaton
Rachel Hamm
Jonathan Mousley
Science Senator      
Emilee Harmon
Diversity VP Campus Recreation Fee Daniel Lawrence
Jennifer Seamons
Drew Thorngren
Business Senator Aggie Recreation Center Fee Daniel Lawrence
Jennifer Seamons
Cade Cox
CAAS Senator      

James Morales Vice President for Student Affairs - Voting Member
Eric Olsen Associate Vice President for Student Affairs - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Linda Zimmerman Director for Student Involvement & Leadership - Ex Offico member (non-voting/executive secretary)
Whitney Pugh Executive Director Budget & Planning Office - Ex Officio member (non-voting)
Sophia May SILC Staff Assistant (Non-voting member-secretary)

Member Office
Braxton Evans
Statewide Campus President
Que Begay
Blanding Executive VP
Niyonta Chowdhury-Magana
Grad. Studies Senator
Barbi Swenson
Brigham City Executive VP
Becky Hinchcliff
Moab Executive VP
Sherri Callister
Southwest Executive VP
Julie Andrews
Tooele Executive VP
Lindsay Cook
Uintah Basin Executive VP
Natoya Chung
Wasatch Executive VP
Taylor Adams
Assistant Vice President, Statewide Campuses
James Morales
Vice President for Student Affairs
Eric Curwen
Director, Student Life
Shilo Martinez
Program Coordinator, Blanding Campus
Sophia May
Program Coordinator, Logan Campus
Bryson Pugh
EUSA President
Christine Downs Cisneros
Statewide Campuses Financial Officer