Utah State University Carnegie Professors Skip to main content

About the Award

Created by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) in 1981, the U.S. Professors of the Year program is the only national award program that recognizes college professors for their teaching. It is administered jointly with the Carnegie Foundation and TIAA-CREF and is supported by the higher education community throughout the United States, including more than 25 higher education associations.

The primary characteristic the judges consider is an extraordinary dedication to undergraduate teaching, which should be demonstrated by excellence in the following areas:

  • Impact on and involvement with undergraduate students;
  • Scholarly approach to teaching and learning;
  • Contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community, and profession; and
  • Support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students.

Excellent Rewards for National, State Winners

Each national winner receives:

  • $5,000 contributed by The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
  • An all-expense paid trip (airfare, meals, and two nights' hotel accommodations) for the winner, one guest and a current or former student to Washington, D.C., for the November awards celebration
  • An invitation to speak at the November awards luncheon and recognition at an evening Congressional reception (members of Congress from each winner's state are invited to attend the reception)
  • National, regional and local media coverage
  • An elegantly framed certificate of recognition
  • An opportunity to participate in activities that highlight the importance of teaching throughout the year; these activities could include media interviews, speaking engagements, teaching forums and other events coordinated through each winner's institution

Each state-level winner receives:

  • Complimentary attendance for two at the November awards luncheon and Congressional reception
  • Personalized award certificate
  • Media recognition
  • Acknowledgement at the awards luncheon
  • Posting on the U.S. Professors of the Year Web site

Additional Information:
Contact Janet Anderson with any questions about the nominating process.

For more information see http://www.usprofessorsoftheyear.org

For information about the Carnegie Foundation see http://www.carnegiefoundation.org