Skip to main content

Ombudspersons

All academic units will appoint ombudspersons to serve in the promotion, tenure, and post-tenure review processes, as explained in USU Policy 405.6.5. The ombudsperson is responsible for ensuring that the rights of the candidate and the University are protected and that due process is followed.

Utah State University produced a video that depicts faculty evaluation scenarios that demonstrate the advantages of an ombudsperson system. Click here to view this important video.

College Ombudspersons

Animal, Dairy and Veterinary Sciences

Name Email Phone Number
Abby Benninghoff abby.benninghoff@usu.edu (435) 797-8649
Allen Young allen.young@usu.edu (435) 797-3763
David Wilson david.wilson@usu.edu (435) 797-1899
Dirk Vanderwall dirk.vanderwall@usu.edu (435) 797-9438
Lyle McNeal lyle.mcneal@usu.edu (435) 797-2154
Ralph Meyer ralph.meyer@usu.edu (435) 797-1774

Applied Economics

Name Email Phone Number
Arthur Caplan arthur.caplan@usu.edu (435) 797-0775

Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning

Name Email Phone Number
David Bell david.bell@usu.edu (435) 797-0511
Sean Michael sean.michael@usu.edu (435) 797-0509

Nutrition, Dietetics and Food Sciences

Name Email Phone Number
Charles Carpenter chuck.carpenter@usu.edu (435) 797-2103
Ilka Nemere ilka.nemere@usu.edu (435) 797-3286
Marie Walsh marie.walsh@usu.edu (435) 797-2177

Plants, Soils and Climate

Name Email Phone Number
Astrid Jacobson astrid.jacobson@usu.edu (435) 797-2184
Brent Black brent.black@usu.edu (435) 797-2174
Dan Drost dan.drost@usu.edu (435) 797-2258
Grant Cardon grant.cardon@usu.edu (435) 797-2278
Jeanette Norton jeanette.norton@usu.edu (435) 797-2166
Jennifer MacAdam jennifermacadam@usu.edu (435) 797-2364
John Carman john.carman@usu.edu (435) 512-4913
Paul G. Johnson paul.johnson@usu.edu (435) 797-7039
Scott B. Jones scott.jones@usu.edu (435) 797-2175

Applied Sciences, Technology and Education

Name Email Phone Number
Bruce Miller bruce.miller@usu.edu (435) 797-2232
Edward Reeve ed.reeve@usu.edu (435) 797-3642
Gary Stewardson gary.stewardson@usu.edu (435) 797-7559
Michael Pate michael.pate@usu.edu (435) 797-3508
Richard Beard richard.beard@usu.edu (435) 797-0573

Art and Design

Name Email Phone Number
Alexa Sand alexa.sand@usu.edu (435) 797-8549
Darrin Brooks darrin.brooks@usu.edu (435) 797-1559
JoAnn Wilson joann.wilson@usu.edu (435) 797-1574
Laura Gelfand laura.gelfand@usu.edu (435) 797-3425
Robert Winward bob.winward@usu.edu (435) 797-0292

Music

Name Email Phone Number
Christopher Scheer christopher.scheer@usu.edu (435) 797-8706
Cindy Dewey cindy.dewey@usu.edu (435) 797-3055
Cory Evans cory.evans@usu.edu (435) 797-3035
Jon Gudmundson jon.gudmundson@usu.edu (435) 797-3003
Maureen Hearns maureen.hearns@usu.edu (435) 797-3009
Sergio Bernal sergio.bernal@usu.edu (435) 797-0487
Thomas Rohrer thomas.rohrer@usu.edu (435) 797-3004
Todd Fallis todd.fallis@usu.edu (435) 797-3005

Theatre Arts

Name Email Phone Number
Adrianne Moore adrianne.moore@usu.edu (435) 797-3023
Bruce Duerden bruce.duerden@usu.edu (435) 797-3026

Accountancy

Name Email Phone Number
Richard Jenson richard.jenson@usu.edu (435) 797-2335
Nate Stephens nate.stephens@usu.edu (435) 797-8016

Economics & Finance

Name Email Phone Number
Alan Stephens alan.stephens@usu.edu (435) 797-2367
Christopher Fawson chris.fawson@usu.edu (435) 797-2320

Management

Name Email Phone Number
Chad Albrecht chad.albrecht@usu.edu (435) 797-2365
Kenneth Bartkus ken.bartkus@usu.edu (435) 797-3891
Konrad Lee konrad.lee@usu.edu (435) 797-5090

Management Information Systems

Name Email Phone Number
Jeffrey Johnson jeffrey.johnson@usu.edu (435) 797-2350
Katherine Chudoba kathy.chudoba@usu.edu (435) 797-2344

Communicative Disorders and Deaf Education

Name Email Phone Number
Beth Foley beth.foley@usu.edu (435) 797-1992
Freeman King freeman.king@usu.edu (435) 797-1343
Karen Munoz karen.munoz@usu.edu (435) 797-3701
Kim Corbin-Lewis kim.corbin-lewis@usu.edu (435) 797-1302
Ron Gillam ron.gillam@usu.edu (435) 797-1704
Sandra Gillam sandi.gillam@usu.edu (435) 797-7028
Sonia Manuel-Dupont sonia.manuel-dupont@usu.edu (435) 797-1340

Family, Consumer, and Human Development

Name Email Phone Number
Ann Austin ann.austin@usu.edu (435) 797-1527
Beth Fauth beth.fauth@usu.edu (435) 797-1989
Brian Higginbotham brian.higginbotham@usu.edu (435) 797-7276
Dave Robinson dave.robinson@usu.edu (435) 797-7431
Jean Lown jean.lown@usu.edu (435) 797-1569
Jeffrey Dew jeff.dew@usu.edu (435) 797-9184
Kathy Piercy kathy.piercy@usu.edu (435) 797-2387
Kay Bradford k.bradford@usu.edu (435) 797-5454
Linda Skogrand linda.skogrand@usu.edu (435) 797-8183
Lisa Boyce lisa.boyce@usu.edu (435) 797-2713
Lucy Delgadillo lucy.delgadillo@usu.edu (435) 797-7204
Maria Norton maria.norton@usu.edu (435) 797-0613
Randy Jones randy.jones@usu.edu (435) 797-1553
Scot Allgood scot.allgood@usu.edu (435) 797-7433
Shawn Whiteman shawn.whiteman@usu.edu (435) 797-9184
Shelley Lindauer shelley.lindauer@usu.edu (435) 797-1532
Troy Beckert troy.beckert@usu.edu (435) 797-1570
Yoon Lee yoon.lee@usu.edu (435) 797-1555

Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences

Name Email Phone Number
Andrew Walker andy.walker@usu.edu (435) 797-2614
Brian Belland brian.belland@usu.edu (435) 797-2535
David Feldon david.feldon@usu.edu (435) 797-0556
Mimi Recker mimi.recker@usu.edu (435) 797-2688
Victor Lee victor.lee@usu.edu (435) 797-7562
Yanghee Kim Yanghee.kim@usu.edu (435) 797-2653

Kinesiology & Health Science

Name Email Phone Number
Dale Wagner dale.wagner@usu.edu (435) 797-8253
Dennis Dolny dennis.dolny@usu.edu (435) 797-7579
Eadric Bressel eadric.bressel@usu.edu (435) 797-7216
Ed Heath edward.heath@usu.edu (435) 797-3306
Hilda Fronske hilda.fronske@usu.edu (435) 797-1507
John Kras john.kras@usu.edu (435) 797-3881
Julie Gast julie.gast@usu.edu (435) 797-1490
Phillip Waite phillip.waite@usu.edu (435) 797-7217
Rolayne Wilson rolayne.wilson@usu.edu (435) 797-1508

Nursing and Health Professions

Name Email Phone Number
Sandra Nadelson sandra.nadelson@usu.edu (435) 797-5519

Psychology

Name Email Phone Number
Amy Odum amy.odum@usu.edu (435) 797-5578
Catalin Buhusi catalin.buhusi@usu.edu (435) 797-7337
Christian Geiser christian.geiser@usu.edu (480) 310-6489
Christopher Johnson chistopher.johnson@usu.edu 882-6611
Donna Gilbertson donna.gilbertson@usu.edu (435) 797-2034
Gretchen Peacock gretchen.peacock@usu.edu (435) 797-0721
Jamison Fargo jamison.fargo@usu.edu (435) 797-8558
Joann Tschanz joann.tschanz@usu.edu (435) 797-1583
Karl White karl.white@usu.edu (435) 797-3013
Kerry Jordan kerry.jordan@usu.edu (435) 797-2797
Melanie Domenech-Rodriguez melanie.domench@usu.edu (435) 797-3059
Renee Galliher renee.galliher@usu.edu (435) 797-3391
Scott Bates scott.bates@usu.edu (435) 797-2975
Scott DeBerard scott.deberard@usu.edu (435) 797-1462
Susan Crowley susan.crowley@usu.edu (435) 797-1251
Tim Shahan tim.shahan@usu.edu (435) 797-5558

Special Education and Rehabilitation

Name Email Phone Number
Ben Lignugaris/Kraft ben.lig@usu.edu (435) 797-2382
Bob Morgan bob.morgan@usu.edu (435) 797-3251
Bryce Fifield bryce.fifield@usu.edu (435) 797-2816
Charles Salzberg c.salzberg@usu.edu (435) 797-3234
Jared Schultz jared.schultz@usu.edu (435) 797-3478
Judith Holt judith@cpd2.usu.edu (435) 797-7157
Julie Smart julie.smart@usu.edu (435) 797-3269
Nancy Glomb nancy.glomb@usu.edu (435) 797-3911
Tim Slocum tim.slocum@usu.edu (435) 797-3212
Tom Higbee tom.higbee@usu.edu (435) 797-1933

Teacher Education and Leadership

Name Email Phone Number
Amy Wilson-Lopez amyalexandra.wilson@usu.edu (435) 797-0376
Cindy Jones cindy.jones@usu.edu (435) 797-7027
Cinthya Saavedra cinthya.saavedra@usu.edu (435) 797-0392
Francine Johnson francine.johnson@usu.edu (435) 797-2714
Jim Dorward jim.dorward@usu.edu (435) 797-0397
Kathleen Mohr kathleen.mohr@usu.edu (435) 797-3946
Louis Nadelson louis.nadelson@usu.edu (435) 797-7697
Mary Roe mary.roe@usu.edu (435) 797-2225
Mike Freeman michael.freeman@usu.edu (435) 797-1474
Patricia Moyer-Packenham patricia.moyer-packenham@usu.edu (435) 797-0394
Sarah Clark sarah.clark@usu.edu (435) 797-0370
Scott Hunsaker scott.hunsaker@usu.edu (435) 797-0386
Sherry Marx sherry.marx@usu.edu (435) 797-2227
Steven P. Camicia steven.camicia@usu.edu (801) 518-3193
Suzanne H. Jones suzanne.jones@usu.edu (435) 797-0389
Sylvia Munsen sylvia.munsen@usu.edu (435) 797-2220
Sylvia Read sylvia.read@usu.edu (435) 797-0398

Biological Engineering

Name Email Phone Number
David Britt david.britt@usu.edu (435) 797-2158
Ronald Sims ron.sims@usu.edu (435) 797-3156

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Name Email Phone Number
Bethany Neilson bethany.neilson@usu.edu (435) 797-7369
Blake Tullis blake.tullis@usu.edu (435) 797-3194
David Stevens david.stevens@usu.edu (435) 797-3229
David Tarboton david.tarboton@usu.edu (435) 797-3172
Gilberto Urroz gilberto.urroz@usu.edu (435) 797-3379
Jagath Kaluarachchi jagath.kaluarachchi@usu.edu (435) 797-3918
Joseph Caliendo joe.caliendo@usu.edu (435) 797-2896
Laurie McNeill laurie.mcneill@usu.edu (435) 797-1522
Mac McKee mac.mckee@usu.edu (435) 797-3188
Marv Halling marv.halling@usu.edu (435) 797-3179
Paul Barr paul.barr@usu.edu (435) 797-8249
Ryan Dupont ryan.dupont@usu.edu (435) 797-3227
William Doucette william.doucette@usu.edu (435) 797-3178
William Rahmeyer william.rahmeyer@usu.edu (435) 797-3180
Hengda Cheng hengda.cheng@usu.edu (435) 797-2054

Computer Science

Name Email Phone Number
Minghui Jiang minghui.jiang@usu.edu (435) 797-0347
Scott Cannon scott.cannon@usu.edu (435) 797-2015
Vicki Allan vicki.allan@usu.edu (435) 797-2022
Vladimir Kulyukin vladimir.kulyukin@usu.edu (435) 797-1000
Xiaojun Qi xiaojun.qi@usu.edu (435) 797-8155

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Name Email Phone Number
Charles Swenson charles.swenson@usu.edu (435) 797-2958
Scott Budge scott.budge@usu.edu (435) 797-3433
Todd Moon todd.moon@usu.edu (435) 797-2970

Engineering Education

Name Email Phone Number
Kurt Becker kurt.becker@usu.edu (435) 797-2076
Ning Fang ning.fang@usu.edu (435) 797-2948

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Name Email Phone Number
Bart Smith barton.smith@usu.edu (435) 797-3278
Rees Fullmer rrfullmer@usu.edu (435) 797-3894
Robert Spall robert.spall@usu.edu (435) 797-2878
Steve Folkman steven.folkman@usu.edu (435) 797-2879
Thomas Fronk thomas.fronk@usu.edu (435) 797-3893

English

Name Email Phone Number
Brock Dethier brock.dethier@usu.edu (435) 797-3546
Brian McCuskey brian.mccuskey@usu.edu (435) 797-0262
Charles Waugh charles.waugh@usu.edu (435) 797-3481
Christine Cooper-Rompato christine.rompato@usu.edu (435) 797-3856
Jennifer Sinor jennifer.sinor@usu.edu (435) 797-3304
John McLaughlin nuwitaivottsi@yahoo.com (435) 363-7142
Joyce Kinkead joyce.kinkead@usu.edu (435) 797-1706
Keith Grant-Davie keith.grantdavie@usu.edu (435) 797-3547
Kristine Miller kristine.miller@usu.edu (435) 797-3646
Lisa Gabbert lisa.gabbert@usu.edu (435) 797-2721
Paul Crumbley paul.crumbley@usu.edu (435) 797-3860
Ryan Moeller rylish.moeller@usu.edu (435) 797-8637
Shane Graham shane.graham@usu.edu (435) 797-2719

History

Name Email Phone Number
Chris Conte chris.conte@usu.edu (435) 797-1303
Colleen O'Neill colleen.oneill@usu.edu (435) 797-1297
David Rich Lewis david.r.lewis@usu.edu (435) 797-1299
Frances Titchener frances.titchener@usu.edu (435) 797-1298
James Sanders james.sanders@usu.edu (435) 797-1294
Lawrence Culver lawrence.culver@usu.edu (435) 797-3101
Mark L. Damen mark.damen@usu.edu (435) 797-3786
Philip Barlow philip.barlow@usu.edu (435) 797-3406
Susan Shapiro susan.o.shapiro@usu.edu (435) 797-2091
Victoria Grieve victoria.grieve@usu.edu (435) 797-0145

Languages, Philosophy, and Communication Studies

Name Email Phone Number
Abdulkafi Albirini abdulkafi.albirini@usu.edu (435) 797-8630
Ann Roemer ann.roemer@usu.edu (435) 797-2051
Cacilda Rego cacilda.rego@usu.edu (435) 797-7102
Charlie Huenemann charlie.huenemann@usu.edu (435) 797-0254
Christa Jones christa.jones@usu.edu (435) 797-8708
Franklin Bacheller franklin.bacheller@usu.edu (435) 797-1281
J.P. Spicer-Escalante jp.spicer@usu.edu (435) 797-0709
Jennifer Peeples jennifer.peeples@usu.edu (435) 797-7440
Jim Bame jim.bame@usu.edu (435) 797-3908
Jim Rogers jim.rogers@usu.edu (435) 797-3910
John Seiter john.seiter@usu.edu (435) 797-0138
Maria Cordero maria.cordero@usu.edu (435) 797-1423
Maria Spicer-Escalante maria.spicer@usu.edu (435) 797-1209
Nolan Weil nolan.weil@usu.edu (435) 797-2052
Sarah Gordon sarah.gordon@usu.edu (435) 797-8213

Political Science

Name Email Phone Number
Anthony Peacock anthony.peacock@usu.edu (435) 797-1314
Greg Goelzhauser greg.goelzhauser@usu.edu (435) 797-9489
Veronica Ward veronica.ward@usu.edu (435) 797-1319

Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology

Name Email Phone Number
Christy Glass christy.glass@usu.edu (435) 797-1258
Courtney Flint courtney.flint@usu.edu (435) 797-8635
Derrik Tollefson derrik.tollefson@usu.edu (435) 797-9296
Diane Calloway-Graham diane.calloway-graham@usu.edu (435) 797-2389
Harold Reed Geertsen reed.geertsen@usu.edu (435) 797-1246
E. Helen Berry eddy.berry@usu.edu (435) 797-1245
Peggy Petrzelka peggy.petrzelka@usu.edu (435) 797-0981
Steven R. Simms s.simms@usu.edu (435) 797-1277
Terry Peak terry.peak@usu.edu (435) 797-4080

Environment and Society

Name Email Phone Number
Christopher Monz chris.monz@usu.edu (435) 797-2773
Claudia Radel claudia.radel@usu.edu (435) 797-0516
Layne Coppock layne.coppock@usu.edu (435) 797-1262
Mark Brunson mark.brunson@usu.edu (435) 797-2458
Nat Frazer nat.frazer@usu.edu (435) 797-0523
Steven Burr steven.burr@usu.edu (435) 797-7094

Watershed Sciences

Name Email Phone Number
Chuck Hawkins chuck.hawkins@usu.edu (435) 797-2280
Jiming Jin jiming.jin@usu.edu (435) 799-1122
Joe Wheaton joe.wheaton@usu.edu (435) 232-7916
Karin Kettenring karin.kettenring@usu.edu (435) 797-2546
Nancy Mesner nancy.mesner@usu.edu (435) 797-7541
Wayne Wurtsbaugh wayne.wurtsbaugh@usu.edu (435) 797-2584

Wildland Resources

Name Email Phone Number
David Koons david.koons@usu.edu (435) 797-8670
Doug Ramsey doug.ramsey@usu.edu (435) 797-3783
Eugene Schupp eugene.schupp@usu.edu (435) 797-2475
James Long james.long@usu.edu (435) 797-3219
Johan Du Toit johan.dutoit@usu.edu (435) 797-2837
Karen Beard karen.beard@usu.edu (435) 797-8220
Michael Conover mike.conover@usu.edu (435) 797-2436
Peter Adler peter.adler@usu.edu (435) 797-1021
Terry Messmer terry.messmer@usu.edu (435) 797-3975

Biology

Name Email Phone Number
Anne Anderson anne.anderson@usu.edu (435) 797-3407
Michelle Baker michelle.baker@usu.edu (435) 797-7008
Frank Messina frank.messina@usu.edu (435) 797-2528
Edward Evans ted.evans@usu.edu (435) 797-2552
Kimberly Sullivan kim.sullivan@usu.edu (435) 797-3713

Chemistry

Name Email Phone Number
Brad Davidson brad.davidson@.usu.edu (435) 797-1628
David Farrelly david.farrelly@usu.edu (435) 797-1628
Stephen E. Bialkowski stephen.bialkowski@usu.edu (435) 797-1907

Geology

Name Email Phone Number
Carol Dehler carol.dehler@usu.edu (435) 797-0764
Dave Lidell dave.liddell@usu.edu (435) 797-0764

Mathematics and Statistics

Name Email Phone Number
Adele Cutler adele.cutler@usu.edu (435) 797-2761
Daniel Coster dan.coster@usu.edu (435) 797-2815
Mark Fels mark.fels@usu.edu (435) 797-0774
Zhi-Qiang Wang zhi-qiang.wang@usu.edu (435) 797-3529

Physics

Name Email Phone Number
Boyd Edwards boyd.edwards@usu.edu (435) 797-8411
Jim Wheeler jim.wheeler@.usu.edu (435) 797-3349
Name Email Phone Number
Betty Rozum betty.rozum@usu.edu (435) 797-2632
Brad Cole brad.cole@usu.edu (435) 797-8268
Britt Anna Fagerheim britt.fagerheim@usu.edu (435) 797-2643
Carol Kochan carol.kochan@usu.edu (435) 797-2676
Daniel Davis daniel.davis@usu.edu (435) 797-0890
Flora Shrode flora.shrode@usu.edu (435) 797-8033
Jennifer Duncan jennifer.duncan@usu.edu (435) 797-8148
Kevin Brewer kevin.brewer@usu.edu (435) 797-3961
Pamela Martin pamela.martin@usu.edu (435) 797-2685
Sandra Weingart sandra.weingart@usu.edu (435) 797-0739
Name Email Phone Number
Adrie Roberts adrie.roberts@usu.edu 435) 752-6263
Ann Henderson ann.henderson@usu.edu (435) 695-2544
Boyd Kitchen boyd.kitchen@usu.edu (801) 781-5452
Darrell Rothlisberger darrell.rothlisberger@usu.edu (435) 793-2435
Dean Miner dean.miner@usu.edu (801) 851-8469
Ellen Serfustini ellen.serfustini@usu.edu (435) 636-3236
Kim Chapman c.kim.chapman@usu.edu 801-343-8054
James Barnhill james.barnhill@usu.edu (801) 399-8208
Jeffrey Banks jeff.banks@usu.edu (435) 652-3452
Joanne Roueche joanne.roueche@usu.edu 801-451-3405
Justen Smith justen.smith@usu.edu (801) 451-3413
Kathy Riggs kathleen.riggs@usu.edu (435) 586-8132
Linda Skogrand linda.skogrand@usu.edu (435) (435) 797-8183
Margie Memmott margie.memmott@usu.edu (435) 623-3451
Paula Scott paula.scott@usu.edu (801) 468-3181
Rick Heflebower rick.h@usu.edu (435) 652-5815
Shawn Olsen shawn.olsen@usu.edu (801) 451-3412
Stan Guy stan.guy@usu.edu (435) 797-3221
Sterling Banks sterling.banks@usu.edu (435) 336-3219

Applied Sciences, Technology and Education (Price)

Name Email Phone Number
Elaine Youngberg elaine.youngberg@usu.edu (435) 613-5601
Lon Youngberg lon.youngberg@usu.edu (435) 613-5674
Elias Perez elias.perez@usu.edu (435) 613-5251

Family, Consumer, and Human Development (Vernal)

Name Email Phone Number
Susan Talley susan.talley@usu.edu (435) 283-7419

Kinesiology & Health Science (Moab)

Name Email Phone Number
Steve Hawks steve.hawks@usu.edu (435) 259-7432

English (Vernal)

Name Email Phone Number
Alan Blackstock alan.blackstock@usu.edu (435) 722-1735

English (Blanding)

Name Email Phone Number
Josi Russell josi.russell@usu.edu (435) 678-8206

Languages, Philosophy, and Communication Studies (Price)

Name Email Phone Number
Steven Nelson steven.nelson@usu.edu (435) 613-5474

Sociology, Social Work and Anthropology (Price)

Name Email Phone Number
Richard Walton richard.walton@usu.edu (435) 613-5272

Wildland Resources (Vernal)

Name Email Phone Number
Rich Etchberger rich.etchberger@usu.edu (435) 722-1781

Need Training?

Email Michele Hillard (michele.hillard@usu.edu) to be granted access to online training.



For more information on ombudspersons, please contact:

Edward M. Reeve
Interim Vice Provost
Phone: (435) 797-0718
Email: ed.reeve@usu.edu